LibGuides: CTVA 413: Women Filmmakers: Home

Home

Music Librarian

Steve Kutay

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8328

University Library Rm 227

818.677.2335

Subjects: Cinema and Television Arts

Software for students

Books on women filmmakers/feminist theory

Doing Women's Film History: Reframing Cinemas Past and Future by Christine Gledhill (Editor); Julia Knight (Editor); Monica Dall'asta (Prologue by); Jane M. Gaines (Prologue by)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0252097777
Publication Date: 2015
Feminisms: Diversity, Difference, and Multiplicity in Contemporary Film Cultures by Laura Mulvey (Editor); Anna Backman Rogers (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9089646760
Publication Date: 2016
Feminist Film Theory by Sue Thornham
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0585159173
Publication Date: 2011
Women and Film: Both Sides of the Camera by E. Ann Kaplan
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780415027649
Publication Date: 1990
Women Filmmakers in Early Hollywood by Karen Ward Mahar
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780801890840
Publication Date: 2008

Streaming Film databases

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Streaming video database with over 500 hours of documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window Docuseek2 provides access to hundreds of streaming education videos from a variety of producers and distributors. You can search for a specific title or keyword, or browse videos by theme or title.
Filmakers Online This link opens in a new window Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculumrace and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary streaming video service providing access to digital educational films. Current access includes over 700 videos in many subject areas.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Please note that the FIRST TIME you use Kanopy, you need to go to csun.kanopy.com, log in, and then you can watch films on a computer, on the app, or using Roku or Apple TV.
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window Over 250 hours of original language documentaries from producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films cover Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and more.
Sony Pictures Classics This link opens in a new window More than 300 Sony Pictures Classics films from 1992 to 2015. Their catalog offers world cinema titles, and includes a strong emphasis on documentary, including works by filmmakers such as Louis Malle, Wim Wenders, Francis Ford Coppola, Ang Lee, Mike Leigh, Asghar Farhadi, Roman Polanski, Michael Haneke, David Cronenberg, Eric Rohmer, Terry Gilliam, Ismail Merchant, Errol Morris, Ingmar Bergman, Pedro Almodovar, and others.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
We have 500 films on Swank available for the 2020-21 school year. You will need to log in one time (using this link) and then should not have any issues accessing films. You can also browse films in OneSearch, limit to Video, and then Available Online at CSUN.

Databases

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window Indexes over 380 publications related to film and television literature, with selected coverage of 300 additional publications. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects and reviews.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

Film magazines (and more) at LAPL

Using Overdrive Magazines through Los Angeles Public Library, you can read and download several titles related to film (full color and not limited like what you can read using one of our databases). As you can see, they have Hollywood Reporter for the last few years. Overdrive also has The New Yorker, Film Comment, Total Film, Cinema Scope, and Vanity Fair (not strictly film-related but has great reviews and essays).

How to get a free e-card from LAPL
Other free resources from LAPL
Kanopy, Hoopla, NY Times, and more!

Film journals and magazines

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).

New York Times (current)

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.