Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to Library Help widget

ENGL 306OL: Report Writing

MLA Style Guides, 8th edition

The Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style is most common in the humanities.  The eighth edition is new for 2016.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University

Citing Archival Materials in MLA

 

APA Style Guides, 7th edition

This guide is a quick introduction to the American Psychological Association (APA) 7th Edition Style for citations, basic format, and sample annotated bibliography. Please be sure to consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition and/or the APA Style website for additional details.

There is a print copy available  in Reserves (4th floor, east wing) for a two hour checkout.

Most Notable changes from APA 6th edition to 7th edition

  1. Publisher location is NOT included for book citations.

  2. In-text citations from works with three or more authors is shortened from the first time mentioned to (Hernandez et al., 2020)

  3. Include up to 20 authors in the reference.

  4. DOIs need to be formatted as clickable URLs such as https://doi.org/10.1126/sciadv.1400256   

  5. Don’t include “Retrieved from” in front of a URL unless a retrieval date is needed.

  6. For website citation include the website name, unless it is the same as the author.

  7. Clear guidelines for citing media contributors that are not authors or editors.

Media type

     Include as author

 Film 

 Director 

TV series

Executive Producers

 Podcast 

Host or Executive Producer

Webinar 

Instructor 

Online Streaming Video

Person/Group who uploaded the video

  1. Citation examples are provided for different types of online sources including: podcasts, youtube videos, and social media posts.  

  2. Use the singular “they” as a gender neutral pronoun instead of he or she.

  3. Clear format guidelines are provided for student and professional research papers.

  4. More flexibility in font choices/size and include:

    1. Calibri 11

    2. Arial 11

    3. Lucida Sans Unicode 10

    4. Times New Roman 12

    5. Georgia 11

  5. The running head on the title page no longer includes the words Running head. It now only includes the title of the paper and the page number.

  6. Student papers do not need to include a running head. (Unless specified from your instructor)

  7. At the end of a sentence, use one space instead of two.

Citation Managers: What are They and Why Use Them?

Citation Managers are bibliographic management programs that will help you keep track of articles and books as you find them, organize your references and create bibliographies in 100s of citation styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)

They will also allow you to:

  • Import citations as you research from databases and catalogs
  • Save and organize citations
  • Attach PDFs of articles, when available
  • Embed citations (footnotes or in-text) into your word processing documents
  • Collaborate with others online
  • Discover the latest research

The most popular citation managers are EndNote and Zotero. Below are their differences. Remember to always check with your professor if you are not sure.

EndNote - Web version (EndNote Online or EndNote Basic) free to anyone; integrates with MS Word; the Instruction Labs at the Oviatt Library have the Cite-While-You-Write plug-in on Word for students to access their EndNote web accounts

Zotero - Free to anyone; integrates with MS Word and/or Google Docs; must be installed on your own computer 

Criteria Zotero EndNote and EndNote Web
Website http://www.zotero.org/

http://endnote.com/

EndNote Web: https://www.myendnoteweb.com/

Web based? Yes, works with Firefox browser and can sync with online account; connectors for Chrome and Safari available EndNote is a standalone app but it can transfer library to EndNote Web.
Operating System Windows, Mac, Linux Windows or MAC
Cost Free for basic account and the standalone app. Some cost for more online storage space Free for EndNote Web but $$ for the standalone app.
Import from databases Yes Direct export from specific databases
Import citation info from web pages Yes, also archives the page and you can add annotations only with EndNote Web bookmarklet
Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.) Yes, with option to attach automatically Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs

adapted from American University Library and Penn State University Libraries

Citation Managers: How-to Guides and Tutorials

Document Reader