Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Data PlanetThis link opens in a new windowA statistical data repository contains more than 35 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4.9 billion datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.
GeoRefThis link opens in a new windowPublished by the American Geosciences Institute, GeoRef contains more than 3.5 million abstracts from journals, books, maps, conference papers, the U.S. Geological Survey and more, providing a comprehensive history of geology and its subfields.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select \Settings, then Library links. Type in CSUN in the Show library access links for search box and search. Click the checkbox for CSUN and then save.
PolicyMapThis link opens in a new windowWeb-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a â€œGIS tool for non-GIS expertsâ€ for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.
ProQuest Global NewsStreamThis link opens in a new windowFull text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Full-text and digitized master's theses can be found in CSUN's Institutional Repository ScholarWorks.
E-Book Collections in Geography
ProQuest Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowCross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).
O’Reilly Online Learning E-booksThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as Safari Books Online, database provides full-text access to thousands of e-books in technology, business, creative and digital media, and personal and professional development, including computer manuals and reference works. When accessing this resource, you will be prompted to “Select your Institution.” Choose the option that reads “Not listed? Click here.” There you can enter your CSUN email address for a new account or sign in with an existing account.
Geographers on Film are a collection of recorded interviews conducted with hundreds of geographers from August 1970 until the mid-1980s, which includes scholars, and cartographers who have shaped the discipline. Interviews with Carl Sauer, Richard Hartshorne, Wilbur Zelinsky, Richard Chorley, Mildred Berman, William Warntz, Waldo Tobler, John Frazier Hart, Peter Hagget, E. Cotton Mather, Yi-Fu Tuan and William Bunge, are just a few of the names that are a part of the complete collection.
The late Maynard Weston Dow (1929 - 2011), Professor Emeritus at Plymouth State College, largely produced the series. The American Association of Geographers (AAG) and the Library of Congress are now the curators of the collection, and have preserved and digitized the films contents.