Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

GWS 100 - Introduction to Gender and Women's Studies

This guide is intended to assist students conducting research to complete assignments in GWS 100.

How Scholarly Articles are Published?

How Scholarly Articles are Published infographic

How Scholarly Articles Are Published, or What Binge Watching Can Tell You About Academic Research 

Parallels Between Television and Academic Publication
Scholarly Publication Television
An article contains a complete argument but is also part of a larger scholarly conversation An episode contains a complete plot but can also be part of a larger narrative arc.
A year's worth of articles adds up to a volume. A year's work of episodes adds up to a season.
These regularly released collection are part of a journal.  Some have completed their run, and some are ongoing. These regularly released collection are part of a series.  Some have completed their run, and some are ongoing.
Journals are made available by databases. Series are made available by networks.
Some databases, like Artstor and IEEE Explore, are focused on a particular topic.  Some databases, like Project Muse and JSTOR, have a wide variety of content. Some networks, like ESPN and HGTV, are focused on a particular topic.  Some networks, like PBS and Netflix, have a wide variety of content.

OneSearch searches nearly all of the University Library’s databases at the same time. OneSearch also finds books, videos, music, and more. If you need help finding a specific article, choosing a database, or doing any kind of research, call 818-538-7814 or text 818-900-2965. Librarians are here to help.

Suggested Databases

GenderWatch

Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
 

Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale) 

Indexes over 5,200 general interest and scholarly journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, with full text articles from over 3,000 journals.

 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) 

Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.