History

Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by \America: History & Life\)"

Comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every quantifiable aspect of the history of the United States, including such areas as population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.

Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.

Drawing on holdings of The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this collection includes manuscript material, posters, broadsides, pamphlets and other materials related to American history from the start of the colonies through the end of the second world war.

Collection contains searchable, digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century, chronicling the development of America across 150 years.

Publications from a variety of political and social movements of 19th century America, including anarchists, communists, nativists, and advocates of workers' rights, immigration, women's rights, and language reform.

Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California, selected from America's Historical Newspapers.

Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.

Collection of English-language sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. Provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.

Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).

Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.

Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).

The United States Congressional Serial Set contains reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th Congress (1817) through the 103rd Congress (1994). Provides access to full text primary source material on U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, and industrial development.

Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.

Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).