LibGuides: MUS 303: History of Popular Music in America: Money and Markets: Home

Home

Music Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning, and Insurance, Management, Marketing, Music, Systems and Operations Management, Theatre

Other resources

myCSUNbox
Whether you are working in a group or on your own, you should store files in the cloud. myCSUNbox provides you with free storage.
myCSUNsoftware
Download Microsoft Office and gain access to the Adobe Suite (cloud-based) while you are a student at CSUN.
Adobe Creative Cloud

Music magazines from LAPL

With a Los Angeles Public Library card, you can access Libby.

Overdrive offers a number of music magazines such as Rolling Stone, Billboard, and Mojo.

New York Times
Sign up for a weekly All-Access pass to the NY Times including all digital content, with your LAPL card.
Washington Post
You can sign up (repeatedly) for a 7 day all-access pass to WaPo using LAPL.

Find books on music trade

Music Business Essentials by Mark CABANISS
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1442274549
Publication Date: 2018
The American Song Book by Philip Furia; Laurie J. Patterson
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780199391882
Publication Date: 2015
The Poets of Tin Pan Alley by Philip Furia
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0195064089
Publication Date: 1990
The Jazz Age: Popular Music in the 1920s by Arnold Shaw
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1280524278
Publication Date: 1987

Los Angeles Public Library e-resources

LAPL e-resources
Anyone with an address in California can get an LAPL card. Then you can stream up to 10 titles a month on Kanopy.

Freegal
Using Freegal, you can stream unlimited Sony-owned music, and download up to 5 MP3s a week.

Find articles and news stories

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Index to more than 440 scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music education, and jazz.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to online music resources: Grove Music Online, comprising the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.; The Oxford Companion to Music; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window
This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.

Creative Maker Studio (CMS)

CMS Homepage
Info on all the services plus contact info.

Listen to music

Library of Congress jukebox
Listen to the music from your class including Al Jolson, John Philip Sousa, and more!

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Online music library offering streaming access to more than 99,000 CD-length recordings of classical, jazz, world, folk, classic pop and rock music.

The Library has CDs and LPs with music that you are studying. You can either come to Music & Media and browse, or you can use OneSearch and limit by format. Do not get so caught up in your research that you forget to listen to the music!

Citing your sources (MLA and Chicago)

OWL Purdue MLA 9
A straightforward guide showing what has changed in the new (9th) edition of MLA. Hosted by Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Quick Guide to Citing in MLA 9
Chicago Manual of Style (online) Full e-version of the Chicago Manual of Style with links to the style blog. Log in with CSUN credentials to access.
OWL Annotated Bibliography guide
Annotated bibliography
The library's guide to annotated bibliographies, including MLA and APA examples.