LibGuides: MUS 306: Introduction to Jazz: Home

Home

Music Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Accounting, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning, and Insurance, Management, Marketing, Music, Systems and Operations Management, Theatre

How to stream free jazz concerts

Bop Shop Records (Rochester, NY)
Live concerts on YouTube from the last several years.
Concerts at Library of Congress
Jazz at Lincoln Center
Concerts and webstreams from JALC.
Live From Lincoln Center
Past episodes from PBS' LFLC, including some jazz performances.
Philadelphia Jazz Project
PJP videos from the last few years.

With a Los Angeles Public Library card, you can access 500 jazz concerts on Medici.tv.

Books and videos

Blowin' Hot and Cool by John Gennari
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0226289222
Publication Date: 2006-06-21
Jazz Anecdotes: Second Time Around by Bill Crow
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780199726486
Publication Date: 2005
This Is Our Music by Iain Anderson
Call Number: ML3508 .A53 2007
ISBN: 081222003X
Publication Date: 2007-06-05

More books on jazz
Books on jazz musicians
Ken Burns' Jazz
Stream via Films on Demand.
Solos, the Jazz Sessions
Stream via Films on Demand.

Public Library resources (not affiliated with CSUN)

Using LAPL, you can access Overdrive, which has several music magazines that you can download.

LA Public Library also offers access to over 30,000 titles on Kanopy (you can watch up to 10 titles per month), plus 5 downloads a week on Freegal, which has Sony's complete catalog.

A City of LA address is required to get an LAPL e-card, though you can get a physical library card with a CA address. If you live in Ventura or Orange Counties, you can get a Beverly Hills Public Library card.

Databases (find articles and performance reviews)

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Gateway to online music resources: Grove Music Online, comprising the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.; The Oxford Companion to Music; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window News articles, and especially useful for finding performance reviews.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Index to more than 440 scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music education, and jazz.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Online music library offering streaming access to more than 99,000 CD-length recordings of classical, jazz, world, folk, classic pop and rock music.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Jazz nicknames
From RIPM, jazz nicknames of the greats.
Cab Calloway's Hepster Dictionary
Learn all the "hep" words from Calloway's time.
1961 jazz review
Review from Historical NY Times.
2017 jazz review
Review of 2017 jazz festival from the NY Times.
Article about Nat King Cole
From the Los Angeles Sentinel.
Rock & Roll Hall of Fame resources
Interactive content on rock and jazz artists.

Citing your sources

OWL Purdue MLA 9
A straightforward guide showing what has changed in the new (9th) edition of MLA. Hosted by Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Quick Guide to Citing in MLA 9
Chicago Manual of Style (online) Full e-version of the Chicago Manual of Style with links to the style blog. Log in with CSUN credentials to access.
OWL Annotated Bibliography guide
Annotated bibliography
The library's guide to annotated bibliographies, including MLA and APA examples.