LibGuides: POLS 441A: Latina/o Politics: Primary Sources

Political Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

laura.wimberley@csun.edu

Subjects: Mechanical Engineering, Political Science, Public Administration, Public Sector Management

Pew Research Center
Topics include US politics, science, religion, technology, and focused surveys of Latinx Americans.
You will need to create an account to download the data, but there is no cost.
American National Election Studies
In addition to content on electoral participation, voting behavior, and public opinion, the 2016 ANES Time Series Study covers media exposure, cognitive style, and values and predispositions. ANES has also collected supplemental data directly from respondents’ Facebook accounts.
General Social Survey
Since 1972, the GSS has comprehensively surveyed demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.

US Census
Data on demographics, housing, educational attainment, employment, and more

Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.

CSUN Urban Archives
Its purpose is to collect historically significant records of voluntary associations, local political figures, prominent citizens, and civic leaders which have contributed to the growth of Los Angeles County, and influenced government and public thinking since the beginning of the late nineteenth century.