POLS 464: Comparative Public Policy

Contains approximately 1100 elections from 70+ countries at a constituency level for lower house legislative elections. Includes votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available. Available in Stata, SPSS, and raw data formats. Dates are variable, but generally 1945+

 

Build data sets on national and subnational elections around the world 1940s-2010s. Accessible in multiple formats: spreadsheets, tables and GIS maps.

 

Information on international elections: Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.

 

The Database of Political Institutions presents institutional and electoral results data such as measures of checks and balances, tenure and stability of the government, identification of party affiliation and ideology, and fragmentation of opposition and government parties in the legislature, among others. The current version of the database, which is now hosted at the IDB, expands its coverage to about 180 countries for 42 years, 1975–2017.

US Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) global water information system

 

CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

 

Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.

 

United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.

 

An interactive site from the UN Environment Programme, with data, maps, reports and more.

 

Reports on climate change.

 

Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues.

 

 

 

 

 

Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).

 

Provides access to thousands of data sets holding hundreds of millions of facts and figures from a wide range of public and private data providers including the United Nations, the World Bank, Eurostat and the Economist Intelligence Unit.

 

Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Union  

 

Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.

 

Stats for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.

 

A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.

 

World Investment Report (UNCTAD)  

World Investment Report (annual) covers trends and analysis in foreign direct investment.

 

 

Provided by the University of Michigan, access is limited to one user at a time. Available in both Chinese and English. Includes yearly macro-economic statistics, monthly macro-economic statistics, and historical statistics (1949-) from China.

 

Data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more..

 

Click on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.

 

Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.

 

Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.

 

PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.

 

UNDP is the United Nations' global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.

 

Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.