LibGuides: SUS 698: Thesis or Graduate Project: Finding Scholarly Articles

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Deaf Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies and Liberal Studies, Sustainability, Urban Studies and Planning

What Are Scholarly Sources?

The Scholarly Sources section of the Research Strategies LibGuide gives details about how to find and read scholarly books and articles.

Journals

Configure Google Scholar and Library Resources

Google Scholar offers the ability to link directly to University Library resources. With this feature, you can search Google Scholar to obtain the full text of articles and other electronic materials carried by the University Library. Once configured, Google Scholar will offer a link in the results list "Full Text at CSUN" for items that can be accessed through the CSUN Library. Off-campus access to these items is limited to current CSUN students, faculty, and staff. You only need to set up this configuration once for each computer you use.

To configure Google Scholar and Library resources, start at the Google Scholar homepage. Select the menu icon in the upper left, and Select "Settings."

On the settings page, Select "Library links" in the left menu. Next, enter CSUN in the search box and Select Search. Next, Select CSUN - CSU Northridge - Full Text at CSUN, and Save.

Finally, you can also carry out this same process to configure Google Scholar and "WorldCat." Select the "Open WorldCat - Library Search" box and Save. This will help you locate many items in the Library's collection.

Database Searching Guides

Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Free research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Featuring hundreds of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect ecology. The total number of records is approximately 612,000, and full text is provided for more than 9,100 records from open access titles.
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A platform for journals, primarily in the sciences, health sciences, and technology fields, but also featuring social sciences and society publications. We have access to only a subset of the publications here.

Select a Database

Use A-Z Databases to search for a specific database or use the dropdown menus to view databases listed by subject or type.
OneSearch allows you to search across most of our article databases at once, and then narrow results by topic, subject area, item type, and date range.

Accessing Library Resources From Off Campus

Many of the article databases and electronic resources found in OneSearch require a campus login, and are limited to current CSUN students, faculty and staff only. After logging in you need to complete multifactor authentication through DUO as with other campus systems.

Details and online help