LibGuides: TH 108A: Acting I: Home

Theatre Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Accounting, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning, and Insurance, Management, Marketing, Music, Systems and Operations Management, Theatre

Online resources
With an LAPL card, you may access Kanopy, Hoopla, online magazines, NY Times, and more!
Get an e-card instantly!
If you live in the City of LA, you can get an e-card right away. If you live elsewhere, you have options: LA County, Glendale, and/or Beverly Hills (LA, Orange, Ventura Counties). Most CA libraries only require CA residency for a physical card.
NY Times
Ancestry.com
Vogue Archive

Strasberg on Acting Lee Strasberg, director of the Actors Studio, is interviewed about his career, the actors he has taught, and his ideas about acting, including Method acting.
A Tradition of Acting TANISLAVSKY CENSORED: An Acting Revolution Begins - Each program clears up the misconceptions and myths of the origins of American Stanislavsky techniques and reveals how Soviet actors turned to human behavior to revolutionize acting. From Russia to the US. The amazing 115-year revolution of Stanislavsky acting training. Tells the amazing story of the progression of Stanislavsky acting training in the United States and how some of the major Stanislavsky-influenced acting techniques relate to each other and to Stanislavsky from the Outside In.
Creative Drama and Improvisation This video presents various exercises designed to encourage creativity in acting and looks at the use of improvisation. It features Rives Collins, who explores creative drama, dramatic play, and the creative process.
The Expressive Actor
The Actor's Technique Professional actors, directors and playwrights discuss and demonstrate key techniques in developing their craft on the stage, behind the scenes, and in front of the camera.

Digital Theatre+ DT+ includes streaming video of plays and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
Theatre in Video Collection of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
National Theatre Collection Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers high definition streaming video of productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
BBC Shakespeare in Perspective
37 Shakespeare plays adapted for television broadcast on the BBC. Productions from the 1970's and 80's now available as streaming videos.
Academic Video Online Over 30,000 hours of streaming videos covering a wide range of subjects.
Kanopy
Kanopy offers a number of different streaming titles including documentaries and performances. Please note: the FIRST TIME you use Kanopy, you need to log in at csun.kanopy.com.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank has 1000 movies that will be available until July of 2023, including Blade Runner, 12 Angry Men, A Streetcar Named Desire, Breakfast at Tiffany's, and other theatre favorites!

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Times Digital Archive Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).
ProQuest Global NewsStream
Access to current (2012-present) newspapers from all over the world. You can use as a complement to the historical newspapers.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com)
This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.