LibGuides: TH 143V: Voice for Theatre Performance: Research in Theatre

Ask a Librarian

Get help in person or by telephone at the Reference Desk on the main floor of the University Library.

Hours: M-Th 10AM - 6PM; Fridays 10AM - 4PM; Sundays noon - 4pm (closed Saturdays)

818-677-2285

Text short questions to 818-900-2965.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

The Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style is most common in the humanities. The eighth edition is new for 2016.

MLA Handbook, 8th Edition
Call number LB2369 .G53 2016, available on the first floor of the library in the Learning Commons near the Ask a Librarian desk
MLA Handbook, 7th Edition
Call number LB2369 .G53 2009, available on the first floor of the library in the Learning Commons near the Ask a Librarian desk.

Citation managers are software that keep track of your sources and automatically format your citations in a variety of styles.

EndNote Web - free to CSUN students, staff, and faculty; integrates with MS Word and any browser; can export references directly from many databases
- Help with EndNote Web
Zotero - free to anyone; integrates with MS Word and/or Google Docs; must be installed on your own computer