More in-depth info about defining a research topic, using databases, and more resources for all Deaf Studies classes and projects is in the Deaf Studies LibGuide.
"In-text citation" means that you refer to (or cite) the ideas or words of another as soon as you write about them in your paper. There are several ways to do this: using quotation marks for exact words, summarizing or condensing without changing the meaning, and paraphrasing or using your own words.
Here are specific examples of ways to handle in-text citation in APA format.
APA In-Text Citation Basics (Purdue OWL)
APA In-Text Citations Specific Examples (Purdue OWL)
Google Scholar offers the ability to link directly to University Library resources. Enabling this feature will allow you to search in Google Scholar and obtain the full text of articles and other electronic materials carried by the University Library. You only need to set up this configuration once for each computer you use in order to retrieve University Library resources through Google Scholar.
The video below is from Minnesota State University, Mankato but the info will help you use Google Scholar effectively. Just substitute CSUN and you're set.
The NCOD collections have been integrated into the University Library.
You can browse and request NCOD items from the following links:
Academic Research Theses and Dissertations
The Scholarly Sources section of the Research Strategies LibGuide gives details about how to find and read scholarly books and articles.
When you want resources about a specific subject area or in a specific format (such as newspaper articles or data sets)
Best Databases for Deaf Studies Topics
University Library Databases -- listed by subject, type and name
Database (examples: ERIC, JSTOR, Project Muse)
Other useful sources of information for this class have been digitized and are freely available online from Gallaudet University.
The Little Paper Family Newsletters from various states and time periods. (See especially the Alabama Banner ,published by the Alabama School for Negro Deaf; the Virginia State School Bulletin; The Newscaster, publication of the West Virginia Schools for the Colored Deaf and Blind)
From publisher's website: "This in-depth encyclopedic collection of articles defines the current state of Deaf Studies at an international level. This new encyclopedia shifts away from the 'Medical/Pathological Model', and instead has the focus on deaf people as members of a distinct cultural group with a distinct and vibrant community and way of being."
Watch this video to learn how to navigate OneSearch to find materials available through the University Library.
Don't lose track of relevant articles or books. Use Pin It feature in OneSearch -- make sure to log in with your CSUN user id and password (same as portal or Canvas). Items you pin will remain attached to your account and appear every time you log in.
Filtering search results
Once you have a list of results, you can refine them further by using the limiters under Refine My Results. Select the box on the left side to refine your search using that filter. OneSearch won't automatically keep the filters if you change your search. To keep filters locked, select 'Remember All Filters'.
Show Only:
Peer reviewed Journals: Looking for scholarly or academic articles? Use this limiter so your results only list peer reviewed journal articles.
Available Online at CSUN: Use this filter if you want all your results to only include material you can access online.
Available at CSUN: Use this filter if you want all your results to only include physical material available inside the library.
Resource Type:
Include only certain types of information, such as articles or books. Hover over any type and click the red icon to exclude any resource types from your search.
Date: Find only items published within a certain date range. Enter the years and click “Refine” to apply.
Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources. Resources on this page may require Document Viewers
