Home - HIST 341 - Modern Europe - LibGuides at California State University, Northridge

Coordinator of Information Literacy & Instruction

Email Me

Contact:

Office: University Library 449A EW

818-677-7104

Subjects: American Indian Studies, California Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Queer Studies

Introduction

This guide is intended to assist students looking for information resources to support their assignments Professor Erik Goldner's course in Fall 2025 at CSUN.

Recommended Books for Background

Modernity Britain by David Kynaston
Call Number: Floor3 ; DA592 .K97 2013

ISBN: 9780747588931

Publication Date: 2013-06-20
There Ain't No Black in the Union Jack by Paul. Gilroy
Call Number: Floor3 ; DA125.A7 G56 1987

ISBN: 9781134438655

Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Riot! by Ian Hernon
Call Number: EBOOK Online

ISBN: 9781849643245

Contemporary Accounts/Historical Newspapers

Times Digital Archive
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).

The British Newspaper Archive (free/not CSUN)
The British Newspaper Archive is a partnership between the British Library and Findmypast to digitise the British Library's vast collection of newspapers.

Finding Reference Sources

Gale Ebooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Oxford Reference
Collection of over 200 cross-searchable language and subject reference works from Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library, including titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.