LibGuides: INDS 490: Interdisciplinary Studies Capstone Spring 2024: Home

Home

Librarian

Nancy Young

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Deaf Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies and Liberal Studies, Sustainability, Urban Studies and Planning

Engaging Diverse Voices Through Research & Resources

New LibGuide on Diversity on Research and Resources offers insight into how diverse identities and experiences are cataloged in information management systems. The guide's section on Disability helps in developing search terms to better locate information about populations or identities that have been underrepresented and often oppressed by the systemic inequalities of scholarship and librarianship.

Great Place to Begin Your Research

Prosthetics and Assistive Technology in Ancient Greece and Rome by Jane Draycott
Publication Date: 2022

Ebook format supports concurrent users; allows online reading and downloading. Don't forget to sign in to OneSearch with your CSUN user name and password (same as portal and Canvas).
The first comprehensive study of prosthetics and assistive technology in classical antiquity, integrating a wide range of types of evidence.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 176-194) and index. The references include links to find the full text of articles and books in the library's OneSearch and/or databases:

Brown, Elspeth (2002) ‘The Prosthetics of Management: Motion Study, Photography, and the Industrialized Body in World War 1 America’, in Ott, Katherine, Serlin, David, and Mihm, Stephen (eds.) Artificial Parts, Practical Lives: Modern Histories of Prosthetics. New York: New York University Press, pp. 241–81.Google Scholar California State University Northridge Full Text

Explore the Related Contents suggestions in the right hand margin. Links are provided to check if CSUN Library has access to these resources.

Other Book & Book Chapter Suggestions

OneSearch

Suggested Keywords/Search Terms

Be creative, use synonyms, and think of related subject areas to explore this very interdisciplinary topic. History, engineering, medicine, mythology, psychology may all offer different perspectives and insights.

Some suggested search terms/keywords:

disability OR disabilities

communication disorders

speech pathology

speech disorders

speech therapy

applied linguistics

sociolinguistics

artificial limbs

protheses

wounds and injuries

orthopedics

amputation

Database Suggestions

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. Heavily integrated with and includes unrestricted access to the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing. Funding towards access to this database generously provided in honor of John Rees, CSUN, B.S., M.S., in Computer Science, 2009, 2011.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. Includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.
WorldCat.org (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services.WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. Includes books, music CDs, videos, digital content, and article citations, available in many languages.