Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget
 

JS 335 Jewish Identity in the U.S.

This LIbGuide is meant to provide library resources and research strategies for students enrolled in JS 335 - Jewish Identity in the U.S. a course about the social-scientific study of American Jewish religious and ethnic identity. It focuses on the social

Recommended Encyclopedias

Using Reference Resources

Subject encyclopedias, handbooks and overviews are scholarly works written by experts on a variety of topics. Articles appearing in subject encyclopedias are written by selected expert scholars who typically are renown for their specialization in the topic .  Subject encyclopedia can help you locate:

  • an overview of your selected topic that is more specialized than what you would find in general encyclopedias
  • a discussion of how scholars have approached, explored, and debated the topic over time (for examples for historians: historiography)
  • words, phrases, names, dates, and events that can be used as keywords when searching a database
  • detailed bibliographies in articles to find other sources (both primary and secondary)
  • additional cross-references to find related topics
  • authoritative content that is reliable versus what you might find on an open edited source like wikipedia

Selected Dictionaries, Handbooks, Etc.

For Subject Dictionaries search the Advanced Search of OneSearch for these subject keywords

Judaism -- Dictionaries

Israel -- History -- Dictionaries

Zionism -- History -- Dictionaries

Examples of recommended titles include the titles below:

 

Subjects: Jewish Studies

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources. Resources on this page may require Document Viewers