LibGuides: American Indian Studies: Home

Coordinator of Information Literacy & Instruction

Email Me

Contact:

Office: University Library 449A EW

818-677-7104

Subjects: American Indian Studies, California Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Queer Studies

Find Articles

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Digitized materials from the A.J. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, covering American Indians and their involvement in territorial disputes, U.S. Government relations, missionary activity, education, colonialism, and more.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Indexes over 5,800 journals covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Full-text digital, searchable database of American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications. Titles also available via Wiley Online Library.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world — Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

Find News

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window Collection contains searchable, digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century, chronicling the development of America across 150 years.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.

New Books of Interest in AIS

Red Paint by Sasha LaPointe
Call Number: Floor3 ; E99.S21 L36 2022
ISBN: 9781640094147
Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Indigeneity in Real Time by Ingrid Kummels
Call Number: Floor3 ; F1221.Z3 K86 2023
ISBN: 9781978834798
Publication Date: 2023-03-17
Fresh Banana Leaves by Jessica Hernandez
Call Number: ONLINE EBook
ISBN: 9781623176068
Publication Date: 2022-01-18

Find Ebooks

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).

Find Books

Using OneSearch, type in your keywords and click Go.

Click on the 'Books' filter under 'Resource Type' on the left-hand side of the search results.

Find Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses.

ScholarWorks (CSUN theses)