LibGuides: Art 305: Art & Mass culture: Databases

Access Databases from Off Campus

Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).

For more information, see Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus and the Library's Responsible Use of Electronic Resources statement.

Art databases

While OneSearch searches across most of our article databases at once, it can also bring up a lot of out of scope or irrelevant results. Some researchers prefer to search individual article databases for this reason.

The following is a list of art-specific and interdisciplinary databases that may be helpful to your research.

Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 5,800 journals covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital, searchable database of American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications. Titles also available via Wiley Online Library.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from more than 300 publications, and indexing and abstracts for over 600 publications and 13,000 art dissertations covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Also includes indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions and a database-specific thesaurus.
Art Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 600 journals, 13,000 dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes content from more than 55 years of art journalism from over 600 publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to online art resources: Grove Art Online, comprising the full text of The Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.