Below is a list of databases to help get you started with your research. For more databases, see the Communication Studies database page and the A-Z Databases page.
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Cross searching of the business databases: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports and data. International coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select \Settings, then Library links. Type in CSUN in the Show library access links for search box and search. Click the checkbox for CSUN and then save.
GovInfo (Formerly Federal Digital System FDsys) Includes recent primary sources of information from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government. Executive includes: Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, State of the Union Addresses, and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. In addition, reports, investigations, and findings from federal agencies are included. Legislative includes congressional bills, U.S. Code, Congressional Record (debates and proceedings from both houses of Congress), and Committee Reports (committee reports and recommendations for bills), and hearings. Judicial includes Supreme Court opinions and oral arguments.
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
Full text access to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
For more Databases, see the A-Z Databases page.
Annual reports and shareholder letters are usually found on publicly traded company websites
Shareholder letters commonly are included in a company annual report or they are offered in addition to the annual report
Often it takes selecting more than one link on a company website to locate the annual report and shareholder letter
It is not unusual for different linked paths to lead to the same place
The annual report to shareholders is a document used by most public companies to disclose corporate information to their shareholders. It is usually a state-of-the-company report, including an opening letter from the Chief Executive Officer, financial data, results of operations, market segment information, new product plans, subsidiary activities, and research and development activities on future programs. Reporting companies must send annual reports to their shareholders when they hold annual meetings to elect directors. Under the proxy rules, reporting companies are required to post their proxy materials, including their annual reports, on their company websites.
The annual report on Form 10-K, which must be filed with the SEC, may contain more detailed information about the company’s financial condition than the annual report and will include the annual financial statements of the company. Companies sometimes elect to send their annual report on Form 10-K to their shareholders in lieu of, or in addition to, providing shareholders with a separate annual report to shareholders.
The OneSearch tool allows you to search for e-books, print books, articles, and media in every search. Watch the video to learn how to narrow your search results using OneSearch.
Streaming video collection of famous speeches in their entirety by some of the greatest speakers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes introduction detailing historical context, significance and the rhetorical devices found in each speech.
A great source for the text of speeches about social issues by experts and celebrities. Browse by date or search by keyword using the Academic Search Premier database.
A searchable library of over 200,000 hours of videos from all three C-SPAN networks covering federal politics in the United States.
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
Do a search using the keywords 'speeches' and the name of the person. You can also search by subject 'speeches, addresses' in the Advanced Search option.
For more on finding streaming videos, see the Library's Streaming Video guide.
Archive of speeches, from films and recorded audio.
African American Speeches. Offers background information, transcripts, and audio.
Contains the talks from the Technology, Entertainment, Design conference.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary women from around the world. It only includes transcripts for included speeches.
The Guardian: Great Speeches of the 20th Century
History Channel: Famous Speeches
Contains video and audio for famous speeches on a multitude of topics.
The History Place: Great Speeches Collection
The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy and political thinking.
Search by name and/or event and speech or debate.
Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources. Resources on this page may require Document Viewers
