LibGuides: GBUS 698A: Graduate Project/Consulting: Library resources by type

Policy Impact, Regulation, and Legislation

CA Legislative Info

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
A searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Legal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.

Choosing databases and resources

Your consulting project is an opportunity to be creative in your thinking and your searching. For that reason, I do NOT recommend that you make a list of library databases and check them off. Instead, think about what information you need, and try the recommended databases. Then you can try databases in other subject areas, depending on your client, and THEN you can consider freely available resources. Remember to start your research from the library homepage so that you do not get stuck behind a paywall. Ask a librarian before you pay to access content.

Business & Industry News

Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.

Organizations/Competitors

For Profit organizations (all available via LAPL)

Hoover's Profiles

Mergent Intellect

Data Axle Reference Solutions

Non-Profit organizations

Guidestar (register for free; unaffiliated with the library)

Candid (includes Foundation Center Directory and Guidestar Pro; only accessible at LAPL Central Library)

Corporate Finance & Operations

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable database with financial details of over 13,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, as well as over 24,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Includes over 300,000 U.S. and international company annual reports.

Bloomberg Lab
BB 2228 houses the open Bloomberg lab for Nazarian students.

Market Reports

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window A business information databases that includes economic, demographic and government data to provide insight into over 700 industries in America. It includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, risk ratings reports, and business environment profiles.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window Mintel Reports include detailed consumer research, sales data and market information along with analysis, context and commentary to provide the complete picture of the past, present and future of key markets.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic.

Research Articles

You can always start in OneSearch, limit your search to "peer-reviewed" and narrow down from there. I recommend using OneSearch along with subject specific databases, as noted below.

Emerald Full Text (Emerald) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 180 journals in management, applied science and technology, engineering, health sciences, and library and information science.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.