Educational Leadership & Policy Studies (ELPS)

Education Databases 

Below are the primary databases with research in the field of education. For a fully comprehensive search, use more than one database.I recommend starting with Education Research Complete and  ERIC, both accessible through the EBSCO search interface.As a U.S. Government maintained database, ERIC favors research in the U.S., though Education Research Complete indexes more unique journal titles.(Please see the box below "ERIC 2025 Updates" for information regarding how U.S. Government budget cuts and restructuring are impacting ERIC.) 

Additional Education Databases

ERIC 2025 Updates

With the restructuring and reported defunding of the Department of Education there has been uncertainty about the impact on ERIC. Until there is evidence that the ERIC databases are being censored or updated, the links above will continue to work and are still recommended. If you have questions about an article or journal in ERIC that you cannot access, please email me.  

Meanwhile, here is a timeline of updates: 

• 6/17/25: From IES Update: "Following the award of the most recent ERIC contract, IES and the ERIC team conducted an analysis of the recency, coverage, and operating status of our current sources of content. Based on that analysis, will no longer index 159 sources (58 journals and 101 non-journals). More than 1,800 sources, including 1,215 journals and 608 non-journals, will continue to be indexed. Visit our listings of journals and non-journals to view these updates."
• 4/23/25: Major Education Resource Set to Shut Down This Week
• 4/25/25: ERICA to the Rescue! -- Lists efforts to archive ERIC in the event of deletion of the database by the US Government  
• 4/28/25: IES (Institute of Education Sciences) Newsflash Listserv reported the U.S. Department of Education, on behalf of the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), has renewed its contract with AEM Corporation to continue the work of ERIC.

For more about what makes ERIC unique from our other education databases, here are some recent articles: 

• Why Can't You Just Use Google Instead of ERIC? | IES
• Who Uses ERIC Infographic

Dissertations and Theses Databases

General Interdisciplinary Databases