Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

Special Education

Librarian

Profile Photo
Lisa Cheby
she/her/hers
Contact:
818-677-3840
Website

Advanced OneSearch

What is OneSearch? 

OneSearch is the University Library's searching tool to locate book, ebooks, articles, videos and more provided by the Library. OneSearch has been adopted by all 23 CSU libraries giving the CSU system a shared platform to collaborate and share resources. 

What am I searching with OneSearch? 

By default, with OneSearch you are searching the following University Library collections together: 

  • Articles - A interdisciplinary collection of millions of articles from numerous databases and providers. Note that this will not show all articles from all databases. 

  • Books and Media (CSUN) - Books, ebooks, DVDs, music, streaming media and more available through the University Library. This also includes material located in the Teacher Curriculum Center, Music & Media, Map Library, and Special Collections & Archives.

Additionally the following collections are not included in the default search, but can be selected by the user: 

  • Course Reserves - Course materials placed in the library by professors and available for short term checkout. 

  • All CSU Libraries (CSU+) -Includes the books and media collections of all 23 campus libraries as well as articles that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. 

OneSearch Advanced Search

Use the Advanced Search feature to help you find specific items by title or author name, material type or publication date range.  Click on Advanced Search under "More Search Options" in the OneSearch box on the library home page.  If you are in One Search, click on "Advanced Search" to the right of the search box.   To learn more advanced search strategies, click on the search strategy tips tab on the left.  

 

Setting Up Google Scholar with Your CSUN ID

When you search in Google Scholar, you will see links and abstracts for articles that are both open access (free) and those that are behind paywalls.  If an article is not open access, but is part of one of a CSUN subscription that allows full access, you will be able to link to the full article if you set up your Google Scholar to use your CSUN account as a proxy.   Open the PDF below for step by step instructions (it is very easy and quick!) 

 

Using Citations to Find Articles

If the article isn't available full text in the database you are searching, click Check for Availability. A new window will open to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print.

Searching Dissertations and Theses

Video Resources

ERIC: Key Database

What is ERIC?

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is an online database that contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 631,000 full-text documents records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms. 

Curriculum guides, units of study, and lesson plans can also be found in the ERIC collection of educational materials. 

The online index to the ERIC collection can be accessed using the “Databases A-Z” link from the Library home page at http://library.csun.edu.    The best strategy to use to identify curriculum guides/lesson plans in ERIC is to combine your subject with the phrase “lesson planning” or “curriculum planning”.

How do I access ERIC?

You can use three versions of ERIC.  All provide access to the same data, but their interfaces are different.   ERIC (EBSCO) and ERIC (ProQuest) are by subscription. ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) links to the freely available version of ERIC.  Scroll down to see videos on how to use each interface and their different features to help you choose which best fits your research needs and preferred interface.  

Other Databases Specializing in Education Topics

These databases focus on publications within the field of education. 

Databases Specializing in Sociology, Psychology or Multi-subject Topics

Use these databases when looking at education issues form an interdisciplinary perspective for subject-specific perspectives on education issues

Databases Focusing Global Majority Perspectives

Citation Justice and Research 

Citation Justice or Inclusive Citation is a practice rooted in theories of intersectionality. Through citation justice, scholars engage in critical awareness of how the systems of academic publication create barriers to equity for all perspectives to be heard. A citation justice practice works to remedy these injustices through purposeful use of diverse citations and critical expansion of definitions of authority that were historically created to exclude or silence.  One strategy is to include in your research databases that are curated to provide research from the lens of specific identities based on ethnicity, culture, race, gender, or other factors.

 

Using ERIC (Department of Education)

Using ERIC (EBSCO)

Using ERIC (ProQuest)

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources