OneSearch uses terms from the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Likewise, each database will have a thesaurus of subjects uses to organize the database.
For example, the phrase "Social Studies" is not used by the Library of Congress, and so others must be used when searching OneSearch by subject.
Use the Study and teaching subdivision after any subject to find curriculum guides and lesson plans in OneSearch or in ERIC documents collection (see your department reference guide and go to the ERIC page for information on ERIC).
Examples:
Similarl, you might look for in OneSearch, ERIC Databases, or through internet resources are Curriculum Guides and Lesson Plans. The best strategy to use to identify curriculum guides/lesson plans in OneSearch or ERIC is to combine your subject with the words "lesson" or "curriculum" or the phrases “lesson planning” or “curriculum planning”. You might also look for a particular facet of a lesson such as "assessments."
You may use the Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance in locating these guides.
OneSearch indexes all TCC books and media by author, title, and subject. OneSearch also gives you full physical description of each item and information about the suggested grade level or the availability of any accompanying materials. If you are searching for music on a particular subject or for a particular purpose, look up the subject heading and look for records, cassettes or other types of nonprint sources under that subject. The type of media is part of the call number given for that item in OneSearch.
Search OneSearch for search terms such as:
Search OneSearch for such terms as:
In order to locate YA/children’s books, or accompanying or supplemental materials, you may search OneSearch by specific authors or titles. Subject searching may also be performed using specific subject terms such as:
Search OneSearch for such terms as:
Narrow your search using these subdivisions (example: Deaf - Education)
Search OneSearch for such terms as:
Examples:
Curriculum guides, lesson plans and activities may also be found in the ERIC documents collection. Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance in locating these guides.
Search OneSearch for such terms as:
Search under these subject terms:
Narrow your search using these subdivisions (e.g. English Language - Foreign Speakers)
Search OneSearch for such terms as:
Search OneSearch for search terms such as:
You might also search OneSearch to search for specific ethnic or culture groups. Note that the Library of Congress Subjects are not always in alignment with current terminology.
OneSearch indexes all TCC books and media by author, title, and subject. OneSearch also gives you full physical description of each item and information about the suggested grade level or the availability of any accompanying materials. If you are searching for music on a particular subject or for a particular purpose, look up the subject heading and look for records, cassettes or other types of nonprint sources under that subject. The type of media is part of the call number given for that item in OneSearch.
Search OneSearch for search terms such as:
Use the Study and teaching subdivision after any subject to find curriculum guides and lesson plans in OneSearch.
Examples:
Curriculum guides/lesson plans may also be found in the ERIC documents collection. Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance in locating these guides.
Search OneSearch for such terms as:
Search OneSearch for search terms such as:
The following subject terms can be used to locate supplemental and/or specialized reading materials:
Examples of terms you might use to search OneSearch to find information for your Social Studies courses or for research in your discipline:
Search OneSearch for search terms such as:
