Skip to main content

TCC Resource/Research Guides

Selected Subject Terms

In order to locate YA/children’s books, or accompanying or supplemental materials, you may search OneSearch by specific authors or titles. Subject searching may also be performed using specific subject terms such as:

  • Stories without words
  • Children's literature in mathematics education
  • Children's literature in series
  • Children's literature - Censorship
  • Cinderella (Legendary tale)
  • Girls in literature
  • Teenage girls in literature
  • Children's literature - History and criticism
  • Child authors
  • Folklore
  • Fairy tales
  • Picture books for children
  • Harry Potter (Fictitious character)
  • Nancy Drew (Fictitious character)
  • Challenged books
  • Children's poetry, American – Juvenile poetry
  • Language arts - Correlation with content subjects

General Information

The Oviatt Library maintains a selective collection of young adult (YA) and children's fiction and non-fiction materials as well as teacher's guides, dolls and puppets, videocassettes, games, and sound recordings. The materials are listed in OneSearch by author, title, and subject. The YA/children's book collection is designated by "Teacher Curriculum Center TCC" under Available at in OneSearch. Both the children's books and the accompanying instructional materials are housed in the Teacher Curriculum Center.

Biographical Information

For biographical information on authors or illustrators of children's works, you may use a personal name as a subject and/or perform a subject search using the following subject headings in OneSearch:

  • Children's literature - Bio-bibliography
  • Children's literature - Biography
  • Illustrators - Biography
  • Potter, Beatrix
  • Blume, Judy - Correspondence
  • Sendak, Maurice

See also: Something About the Author. Teacher Curriculum Center PN 451 .S6
Provides concise biographical information and references on authors and illustrators.

Something About the Author online version.

Teacher's Guides & Literature Study Guides

Teacher's guides or study guides for individual works of YA/children's literature can be located by performing a title search in OneSearch. Teacher's guides are designated with the words "teacher's guide" following the title. Some good examples are:

Books Reviews & Criticism

For critical/analytical studies, perform a subject search in OneSearch using one or more of the following subject terms:

  • Children's literature - Book reviews
  • Children's poetry - History and criticism
  • Children's literature, American
  • Illustrated books, Children's
  • Children's literature - History and criticism
  • Young adult literature
  • Young adult fiction
  • Young adults - Books and reading

Electronic Indexes

The following periodical indexes regularly contain citations to reviews of YA/children's books or research documents on the topic of children's literature, reading, etc. These can be accessed from the "Databases A-Z" link on the Oviatt Library home page.

Recommended Periodicals

Horn Book Magazine
Paper version 1940-present call #: Z1H67
Electronic version available from 1990-present
Children's Literature Association Quarterly
Paper version 2002-present call #: P1 .C45
Electronic version available from 1979 - present (OneSearch record title is ChLA newsletter; it's same journal)
School Library Journal
Electronic version available from 1974 - present
Children's Literature in Education
Electronic version available from 1970 - present
The Lion and the Unicorn
Electronic version available from 1977 - present

Lesson Plans

ERIC: indexes education journal articles and research documents including lesson plans, reading lists, reading theory and methodology. Available electronically under the "Databases A-Z"  link from the Oviatt Library home page.

Literary Awards

The following will assist you in locating information on a variety of children's book awards. Remember that many of these awards are reported first in periodical sources so periodical indexes may also assist you to identify award winners.

Search terms:

  • Children's literature - Awards
  • Newbery medal books

Internet Resources

Document Reader