LibGuides: Child and Adolescent Development: Key Databases

Population Statistics

KidsCount Data Center
Provides national, state, and local data to track the well-being of children in the United States. Information provided by the Annie E. Casey Foundation, a private philanthropic agency
Childstats.gov
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, a collection of 23 Federal government agencies, issues an annual report America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being.

Start your search for books or articles with these key databases for psychological and educational research!

PsycINFO
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides\access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
Academic Search Premier

Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

America: History & Life

Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
ATLA Religion
Indexes over 1,700 journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from American Theological Library Association (ATLA)'s print indexes on religion and theology.
Black Studies Center

Combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), The Chicago Defender Archive, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and Black Literature Index. Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and dissertations and masters theses.
Chicano Database
Includes over 67,000 records on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
GenderWatch
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Video courtesy of NCSU Libraries