LibGuides: Chemistry: Scholarly Articles

Chemistry Librarian

Cybele Garcia Kohel

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Diverse Community Development Leadership, Kinesiology, Social Work

What's a Scholarly Article?

Types of Journal Content

See the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication for descriptions of each type of content listed below.

Primary Research Articles
Letters, Communications, & Correspondence
Perspectives & Reviews
Editorial Matter

Reviews

Journals

Select a Database

Use A-Z Databases to search for a specific database or use the dropdown menus to view databases listed by subject or type.
OneSearch allows you to search across most of our article databases at once, and then narrow results by topic, subject area, item type, and date range.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).

For more information, see Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus and the Library's Copyright Statement (in particular, the Appropriate Use of University Library's Electronic Resources section).

Database Searching Guides

Databases

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
Complete contents of over 40 journals published by the American Chemical Society.

ChemRN
The Chemistry Research Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in a digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research. SSRN provides the opportunity to share different outputs of research such as preliminary or exploratory investigations, book chapters, PhD dissertations, course and teaching materials, presentations, and posters among others.
ChemRxiv: the Preprint Server for Chemistry
ChemRxiv is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Research discovery application that provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. .
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.