LibGuides: CHS 365: Third World Women and the Chicana: Databases

Why use databases?

OneSearch searches multiple databases at once, which can save you lots of time by not having to individually search through multiple databases.

Best reasons to search individual databases:

1) When the assignment requires specific databases (ex. Genderwatch)

2) You have not focused on your topic (I recommend an "in Context" database or database to look at the topic overview for narrower topics)

3) The information is not in OneSearch (ex. statistics or literature criticism)

GenderWatch

Depending on your topic, you might want to use a subject-specific database. Genderwatch covers several topics from feminist theory to gender identity. Use the following tips to locate search subject-specific databases. Not sure which database to use for your topic, read the description or ASK US!

GenderWatch
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
America: History & Life
Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts
Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by \America: History & Life\)"
Communication Source
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides\access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Women and Social Movements Library
Primarily a collection of primary source material, but also including some documentary films and other secondary sources, this is organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present.
Hispanic Life In America, 1943-2009
This primary source collection covers Hispanic American culture and daily life, sourced from 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.