Below is a list of databases to help get you started with your research. For more databases, see the Communication Studies database page and the A-Z Databases page.
For more information, also see the Finding and Accessing News Articles page.
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
CSUN University Library Digital Collection
CSUN University Library Special Collections & Archives
Digital Public Library of America
Contains millions of archival materials from U.S. history, including images, sounds, texts, and videos.
Primary sources from U.S. history, including military records, census records, presidential library materials, and American founding documents.
The Library of Congress offers a vast collection of digitized archival material - recordings, videos, manuscripts, photographs, political cartoons, sheet music, artwork, and much more.
Library of Congress: Posters: Yankee Poster Collection
The Yankee Poster Collection includes more than 3,000 political, propaganda, and social issue posters and handbills, dating 1927-1980. Most posters are from the United States, but over 55 other countries and the United Nations are also represented. The materials were acquired by gift of Gary Yankee in 1975 and later.
Streaming video collection of famous speeches in their entirety by some of the greatest speakers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes introduction detailing historical context, significance and the rhetorical devices found in each speech.
A great source for the text of speeches about social issues by experts and celebrities. Browse by date or search by keyword using the Academic Search Premier database.
A searchable library of over 200,000 hours of videos from all three C-SPAN networks covering federal politics in the United States.
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
Do a search using the keywords 'speeches' and the name of the person. You can also search by subject 'speeches, addresses' in the Advanced Search option.
For more on finding streaming videos, see the Library's Streaming Video guide.
Archive of speeches, from films and recorded audio.
African American Speeches. Offers background information, transcripts, and audio.
Contains the talks from the Technology, Entertainment, Design conference.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary women from around the world. It only includes transcripts for included speeches.
The Guardian: Great Speeches of the 20th Century
History Channel: Famous Speeches
Contains video and audio for famous speeches on a multitude of topics.
The History Place: Great Speeches Collection
The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy and political thinking.
Search by name and/or event and speech or debate.
25 Most Influential Works of American Protest Art Since World War II
A searchable collection of all ads currently running from across Meta Technologies.
A web-based, non-profit 501(c)(3) educational and publishing organization dedicated to visual culture, visual literacy and media literacy through the analysis of news, documentary and social media images. Many images do not have text. Some images that have text may be considered for rhetorical criticism.
A blog that examines images, how they are created, and what they say about our social world. Some examples could be considered for use as rhetorical artifacts.
A searchable database of television news programming since 2009.
Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources. Resources on this page may require Document Viewers
