Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

DEAF 200: Introduction to Deaf Studies

Deaf Studies LibGuide -- More Detailed Search Tips

More in-depth info about defining a research topic, using databases, and more resources for all Deaf Studies classes and projects is in the Deaf Studies LibGuide.

APA Style

In-Text Citations

"In-text citation" means that you refer to (or cite) the ideas or words of another as soon as you write about them in your paper. There are several ways to do this: using quotation marks for exact words, summarizing or condensing without changing the meaning, and paraphrasing or using your own words.

Here are specific examples of ways to handle in-text citation in APA format.

APA In-Text Citation Basics (Purdue OWL)

APA In-Text Citations Specific Examples (Purdue OWL)

 

Finding Country Information

Navigating the Library Website

Library Databases

When you want resources about a specific subject area or in a specific format (such as newspaper articles or data sets)

Use Library Databases

Best Databases for Deaf Studies Topics

University Library Databases -- listed by subject, type and name

 

Database Tips

Database (examples: ERIC, JSTOR, Project Muse)

  • Searches articles, book chapters, reports, newsletters only in that database
  • Good for in-depth scholarly works on narrow topics
  • Use Advanced Search Option to separate and clarify search terms & keywords
  • Limit by publication date, resource type (for example, peer reviewed/scholarly), and more. Specific limiters available in some databases (examples below from EBSCO)

  • Sign up for database account to keep records permanently available (example below from EBSCO)

 

.

 

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers the ability to link directly to University Library resources. Enabling this feature will allow you to search in Google Scholar and obtain the full text of articles and other electronic materials carried by the University Library. You only need to set up this configuration once for each computer you use in order to retrieve University Library resources through Google Scholar. See Using Google Scholar and Library Resources for instructions on configuring Google Scholar and Library Resources.

The video below is from Minnesota State University, Mankato but the info will help you use Google Scholar effectively. Just substitute CSUN and you're set.

 

SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia

From publisher's website: "This in-depth encyclopedic collection of articles defines the current state of Deaf Studies at an international level. This new encyclopedia shifts away from the 'Medical/Pathological Model', and instead has the focus on deaf people as members of a distinct cultural group with a distinct and vibrant community and way of being."

Country/Geographic Area Search Tip: Click on Reader's Guide tab to get overviews of the Deaf Community in various parts of the world.

 

OneSearch

Watch this video to learn how to navigate OneSearch to find materials available through the University Library.

OneSearch

 

  OneSearch Search tips 

  • Searches books, articles, videos, DVDs, images and more in University Library       
  • Good place to begin research       
  • Good for interdiscliplinary topics

Filter Results in OneSearch

Advanced OneSearch

Use the Advanced Search feature to help you find specific items by title or author name, material type or publication date range.

""

 

OneSearch Advanced Search

To access the advanced search feature, click the OneSearch image on the Library's  homepage and then the "Advanced" search link next to the Basic Search bar.  A set of radio buttons gives you the option to search just the CSUN Collections, Course Reserves, or All CSU Libraries, which includes items you can order through CSU+ or InterLibrary Loan.  You can search by Title, Author/contributor, Subject or ISBN, or all fields, and can combine multiple search statements.  You can limit your search by Material Type (Books, Articles, Journals, Images, or Audio-visual), but language, and by date or date range.

Save Items in OneSearch

Don't lose track of relevant articles or books. Use Pin It feature in OneSearch -- make sure to log in with your CSUN user id and password (same as portal or Canvas). Items you pin will remain attached to your account and appear every time you log in.

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources