LibGuides: Environmental and Occupational Health: Overview

Librarian

Jamie Johnson

she/her

Contact:

University Library
jamie.johnson@csun.edu

(818) 677-6059

Subjects: Criminology and Justice Studies, Environmental and Occupational Health

About this Guide

Welcome to the Environmental & Occupational Health guide! This guide is intended to help students find, evaluate and cite resources related to EOH topics. This guide will also cover search tips and strategies for refining your searches. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the subject specialist Jamie Johnson or Ask a Librarian!

Books & Ebooks

Print Books

Browsing: Books are arranged using the Library of Congress Classification system. Listed below are some important Environmental and Occupational Health classes and subclasses.

RA421-790 Public Health

RA1190-1270 Toxicology

RC963-969 Industrial medicine.

T55-55.3 Industrial safety

These books are located on the fourth floor of the library. Additional locations possible are the Reserve Room (Floor 4 East WIng), Stored(ASRS East), and the Reference Room. Floor 3 may also have occupational health legal material in Library of Congress classification KF.

Searching: Use OneSearch to find books on a topic. If you don't know a specific title, then start with a KEYWORD search. Make sure to use the limiters on the left hand side, Refine my Results by Resource Type - Books & eBooks.

OneSearch

Electronic Books

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.

Articles

The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through Interlibrary Loan.

NIOSHTIC-2 This link opens in a new window
Database of occupational safety and health publications supported by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Abstracts, key terms, and links to full text are provided when available. NIOSHTIC-2 currently contains over 50,000 occupational safety and health information resource citations. Updated continuously.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Free research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Featuring hundreds of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect ecology. The total number of records is approximately 612,000, and full text is provided for more than 9,100 records from open access titles.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.