Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

Finding & Citing Maps

Libguide to provide researchers with search tips and tools to locate, use, and cite historical maps in your research.

Searching for Maps in the Oviatt Library

To find historical maps in the University Library Map Collection, start with OneSearch. You can search for maps of locations by adding the term "map" to cities, states, regions, or even natural features or national parks. Some examples include:

  • Los Angeles map
  • San Fernando Valley map
  • California map
  • London map
  • Mojave Desert map


You can also search for maps by general topics or subjects. Some examples include:

  • Railroad map
  • Earthquake map
  • Road map
  • Zoning map
     

Using the "Los Angeles map" example:


Filter By Institutional Availability
To limit your search to physical materials available at the CSUN Library, select Show Only: Available at CSUN.
Alternate option: use the Show Only: Available Online or the Show Only: Open Access for links to maps that are accessible online or at other institutions.

undefined


Filter By Resource Type
To see only maps at the Library (ie, no atlases or maps on microfilm), select Resource Type: Maps.

Alternate option: Filter by Resource Type: Atlases to see our atlases, which are books of maps on a particular subject

undefined


Filter By Location
To see all cataloged maps within the Library Map Collection, select Location: Map Library.
Alternate option: You can also filter by Location: Special Collections & Archives to see Special Collection's (2nd floor) map holdings as well.

undefined


Filter By Topic
Topics include a wide range of keywords, geographic locations, and subject headings. In this example filtering by Topic: Roads shows you a set of historical Los Angeles road maps available in the Map Collection.

undefined


Filter By Date Range
To find historical maps within a particular date range use Dates: FROM-TO custom date range.

undefined
 

Using these particular filters, we've narrowed down to a smaller set of historical road maps available to view in the Map Collection. You can view this map by visiting the Map Collection service desk and requesting this item using its title and/or call number. 

undefined


You can still remove/reset any of your active filters to modify your search results as needed.

undefined