Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

HIST 301: The Historian’s Craft: Reading, Research and Writing History

This is a course guide for students enrolled in History 301 at California State University Northridge.

Introduction

This course guide is intended to assist students working on assigned research projects and assignments in History 301 at California State University Northridge.  In the course guide pages you will find tips and resources to help you complete assignments that ask you to locate primary and secondary sources.  The resource also provides information on how to locate historiographical essays/literature reviews for  research paper needs.

Searching Tips

​

General Reference Resources

 

Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health,...
 
OED is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present. Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.
 
Collection of over 200 cross-searchable language and subject reference works from Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library, including titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.
 
Collection of over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education. Former titles: SAGE Reference Online; SAGE eReference.
 

Historical Writing and Research Reference Resources

The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Click Above for EBook Copy Access
Print Location: - Learning Commons   
D20 .A55 1995  

Subjects: History

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources