LibGuides: HIST 301: The Historian’s Craft: Reading, Research and Writing History: Using Newspapers

Finding Newspaper Articles

To locate newspaper articles using either OneSearch or see how to access our Newspaper Databases (Historical and Current) see:
Finding and Accessing News Articles https://libguides.csun.edu/news

Other Historical Newspaper Databases

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Times Digital Archive
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
More than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states, including many rare 19th-century titles. Extensive coverage of many ethnic groups, covering immigrant contributions to U.S. business, music, science, education, labor movements and war efforts.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.

Los Angeles Times Historical and Current Files

To access the Los Angeles Historical go to :

1. A-Z Historical Newspapers from the CSUN University website.

2. Select Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper
For access to the following files: Los Angeles Times (1881-1886). Los Angeles Times (1886-1922) and Los Angeles Times (1923-1955)

3. To look at more current Los Angeles Times content within this ProQuest database interface you may also select to search within these available files: Los Angeles Times (1996-) or the Los Angeles Times (2008-) select the Look Up Publications link and enter the title Los Angeles Times. The following options will populate as shown in image below.