LibGuides: HIST 630: Research Seminar in World History: Finding Articles

Coordinator of Information Literacy & Instruction

Email Me

Contact:

Office: University Library 449A EW

818-677-7104

Subjects: American Indian Studies, California Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Queer Studies

Recommended Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by \America: History & Life\)"
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital images of over 125,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Finding Book Reviews

Reading book reviews can help you decide whether or not a particular book contains information that will assist you in learing more about your research topic. A book review also can be an effective resource for evaluating a particular book and determining how scholars and other reviewers received the work. In scholarly History Journals, a book review will often place the author's work in context and describe how the monograph contributes to existing historical literature and/or historiographical debates.

You can locate reviews of History Books by searching the following databases and resources. You will often need to limit your search to book reviews within each search screen to make certain you only retrieve book reviews in your search results.

Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction from over 5,000 periodicals. Also includes over 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly eight decades worth of literary critique, evaluation, and thought from Book Review Digest. Includes book summaries, abstracts, and citations for adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.