LibGuides: Instructional Assets: Infographics

List of Infographics

If you create your own, use the code template for accessible infographics.

Advanced OneSearch

Use the Advanced Search feature to help you find specific items by title or author name, material type or publication date range.

OneSearch Advanced Search

To access the advanced search feature, click the OneSearch image on the Library's homepage and then the "Advanced" search link next to the Basic Search bar. A set of radio buttons gives you the option to search just the CSUN Collections, Course Reserves, or All CSU Libraries, which includes items you can order through CSU+ or InterLibrary Loan. You can search by Title, Author/contributor, Subject or ISBN, or all fields, and can combine multiple search statements. You can limit your search by Material Type (Books, Articles, Journals, Images, or Audio-visual), but language, and by date or date range.

How Do I Search for Books?

Finding Books Using OneSearch

You can search for books using OneSearch by typing in the title, author or keywords in the homepage OneSearch form. Once the results page loads, you can use the limiters in the menus under "Refine My Results" to narrow your results. Selecting "books" under "Resource Type" will limit the results to eBooks and print books. For eBooks only, select "Available Online at CSUN" under "Show Only"; for print books only, select "Available at CSUN" under "Show Only."

Click the title heading of any given result item to view the full record. In the full record, under "Online Access" you'll find the direct link to electronic text, if available. Ebooks can have different number of user access. Check in the notes section to see how many users can read the book at any given time. The "Send To" menu offers tools for citing, emailing, or saving a record as a favorite.

Old My Saved Records

How do I find my old OneSearch saved records? The old OneSearch saved records are still easily accessible. You cannot, however, export them to the new OneSearch saved records. You can export into a citation manager like EndNote Web, Mendeley, Zotero, or RefWorks.

Export your records before the next academic year by following the instructions below:

From the library home page (library.csun.edu) go to the databases link.

From there, log-in to “My Saved Records,” located on the upper right of the screen.

You’ll be prompted to put in your Username and password.

Once there, you’ll see your saved records, and options for exporting them. You can email them to yourself, export them to a citation manager, or download as a .txt file.

How Scholarly Articles are Published?

How Scholarly Articles Are Published, or What Binge Watching Can Tell You About Academic Research

Parallels Between Television and Academic Publication
Scholarly Publication	Television
An article contains a complete argument but is also part of a larger scholarly conversation	An episode contains a complete plot but can also be part of a larger narrative arc.
A year's worth of articles adds up to a volume.	A year's work of episodes adds up to a season.
These regularly released collection are part of a journal. Some have completed their run, and some are ongoing.	These regularly released collection are part of a series. Some have completed their run, and some are ongoing.
Journals are made available by databases.	Series are made available by networks.
Some databases, like Artstor and IEEE Explore, are focused on a particular topic. Some databases, like Project Muse and JSTOR, have a wide variety of content.	Some networks, like ESPN and HGTV, are focused on a particular topic. Some networks, like PBS and Netflix, have a wide variety of content.

OneSearch searches nearly all of the University Library’s databases at the same time. OneSearch also finds books, videos, music, and more. If you need help finding a specific article, choosing a database, or doing any kind of research, call 818-538-7814 or text 818-900-2965. Librarians are here to help.

How to Read Citations?

How to Read a Citation

Book Citations

Elements of a book citation: author, title of book, publisher information, year. and format.

Elements of a chapter in a book citation: author of chapter, title of chapter, title of book, editor of book, publisher information, and page range of chapters.

Book Clues:

If the citation has publisher name and location, it’s a book!
In MLA citation style, the format means the medium of publication.
E-books may have a URL, database name, or date of access at the end of the citation.

Article Citations

Elements of magazine and journal article citations: author, title of article, title of publication, volume number, issue number, year of publication, and page numbers.

Elements of a newspaper article: author, title of article, title of publication, date of publication, page number or section.

For articles found in an online library database the only difference in the citation is the addition at the end of the citation of the following; name of the database, format, access date, and sometimes the URL or DOI.

Article Clue:

All published articles will have two titles; the title of the article and the title of the journal/magazine/newspaper.
In MLA the format for an article in a library database will say “web”, but it’s not a website.
Magazines may just have a month of publication instead of a volume and issue number.
Depending on the citations style, you may see a URL or DOI for an article in an online database.

Website Citations

The elements of a website citation usually include: author/editor, title of work or page, name of the website, publisher or sponsor of website, title URL, date of publication, format, and access date.

Website Clues:

Websites may not provide publication dates.
Websites don’t always have authors; they may just list the organization that created the website.
Depending on the citation style, you may see the term “retrieved from” followed by a URL.

Things to Remember

Every citation style is different, but the elements of what makes up a citation are the same.
If you’re unsure of what type of article it is, just Google the name of the publication
You can always ask a librarian for help!

What is Reference?

What is Reference

Reference Books

Encyclopedias
Bibliographies
Almanacs
Handbooks & Manuals

Where can you find reference books?

Print: Learning Commons, 1st Floor
Online: From the library’s homepage, click on “Databases by Subject” then click on “Reference Sources” or look for e-books in the Library Catalog

Why use a reference book?

Brief & introductory information on a topic
Good for background information and overview of topics
Use for facts and figures
Pro-Tip More reliable than Wikipedia
If the book spine says REF or Learning Commons, it can’t be checked out!

Reference Desk

What is it? Have a question? Librarians are waiting to talk to you. No appointment necessary!

Where is it located?

Learning Commons, 1st Floor, look for the wall that says: “Reference – Ask A Librarian”
Online help at library.csun.edu/AskUs via Email, Chat & Text

Why use this service?

Research help
Develop research strategies
Ask questions
Find books and articles

Reference Page

What is it?

Citations of the resources referred to in a paper, article, report, or book
Where is it located?

Found at the end of an article, chapter, or book.
Include References (APA) or a Works Cited (MLA) page at the end of your own papers!

Why should you create it?

Give credit where credit is due!
Pro-Tip: If you find an interesting article or book and want to research the topic further, look up one of the citations!

Magazines vs. Journals

Popular Sources = magazines and newspaper articles

Purpose: Inform and entertain the general reader
Authors: journalist or professional writers (usually employees of the publication)
Audience: general public
Coverage: Broad variety of public interest topics, cross disciplinary.
Publisher: Commercial
Characteristics:
Few or no cited references
General summaries of background information
Contain advertisements
Length of articles are usually brief, 1-5 pages
Frequency: Published on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
Examples: Time, Newsweek, Vogue, National Geographic, The New Yorker

Scholarly Sources = journal articles

Purpose: To communicate research and scholarly ideas
Authors: researchers, scholars, or faculty (usually listed with their institution affiliation)
Audience: other scholars, students
Coverage: Very narrow and specific topics
Publisher: Professional associations, academic institutions, and many commercial publishers.
Characteristics:
Includes full citations for sources
Uses scholarly or technical language
Peer reviewed
Length of articles are longer, over 5 pages
Frequency: Published on a monthly, quarterly, or annual basis
Examples: Journal of Politics, Sociological Review, Journal of Marriage and Family

Things to keep in mind

You can find both types of sources using the Oviatt Library’s Databases.
Book reviews and editorials found in journals are not considered scholarly articles.
Both magazines and journal articles can be good sources for your work.
Often a combination of the two will be the most appropriate for undergraduate research.

Plagiarism: What You Think It Is vs. What It Really Is

[Plagiarism: What you think it is versus. What it really is]

Plagiarism
What You Think It is	What It Really Is
Plagiarism is Harmless?	Plagiarism can affect your academic standing (e.g. fail, expulsion) and harm those whose ideas you use without giving credit.
It’s not wrong if I do it accidentally?	CSUN has clear rules about plagiarism and it’s your responsibility to follow them.
If you rewrite it, it’s not plagiarism?	You must always cite another person’s work regardless of how you have altered it.
You don’t have to cite your own work?	This is called self-plagiarism and it’s wrong and can be illegal.
Plagiarism is all about how much you plagiarize?	The amount doesn’t matter.
Plagiarism only matters in the courses in your major?	The consequences of plagiarism are the same regardless of the course.
It’s only a problem in schools?	Acts of plagiarism can destroy your career and professional reputation.
American students never plagiarize?	Plagiarism also occurs among domestic students, don’t hesitate to ask questions if you are confused.

How to Avoid Plagiarism

[Give yourself enough time

Many students plagiarize because they are stressed out or completing an assignment at the last minute. Research can be time-consuming. Start early!

Get familiar with the idea of paraphrasing, summarizing, & quoting

Check out this guide

Avoid temptation

If you think you might accidentally plagiarize, don't share papers or read your friends' paper.

Talk to a librarian or your professor

Research and writing can be a very messy process and librarians and your professor understand your struggle. If you are not sure, ask and you will not get in trouble!

Ask for clarification on your assignment

If you don’t understand any language in the assignment, it's your responsibility to ask your professor or go to the IESC.

Seek out resources on campus

CSUN offers a variety of sources on academic integrity, research, and writing. Check with the IESC, the library, and LRC.

Learn to cope with parental and peer pressure

Plagiarism can be a result of social pressure. Seek out help on campus. Check out this webpage.]

Why Should I Cite

[Why We Cite]

Do you think the only reason your professor asks you to cite your work is because they suspect you of plagiarism? Wrong! Here are four reasons why you should cite!

Broaden Your Horizons
1. Your professors ask you to use a variety of sources because they know that your own thinking and ideas will be enhanced when you consult the ideas of previous writers on a topic. When you do this in your assignment, the reader will get the sense that you’re joining the conversation, that you respect other thinkers, and that you’re adding something new to the conversation.
Demonstrate a Sense of Debate
1. Don’t only uses sources that support your argument. Sometimes the most effective sources that don’t agree with your point of view. Introducing concepts from sources that show a varying points of view, puts your ideas in a more interesting and contested light. By doing this you show that there is something worth debating or analyzing further.
Give Credit
1. Just like you would want credit for your own work, writing or ideas, other writers deserve credit for their own work. Recognition is usually the only reward for scholarship. More importantly, giving credit allows your reader to recognize your contribution and ideas.
Further Research on a Topic
1. Your work on a topic helps further research on that subject. You do this by building and extending on the work of the writers you cite in your assignment. One person’s sources can therefore be an invaluable contribution to another’s research.

Streaming Video Databases

Streaming Databases

Looking for videos? Streaming Databases. Like Swank? You'll love these other resources! Recommended databases by category. Documentary: Docuseek2, Filmakers Online, Film Platform, Films on Demand, Kanopy. Drama: Academic Video Online (AVON), Asian Film Online, Kanopy, Sony Pictures Classics. Classics: Academic Video Online, Kanopy, Sony Pictures Classics. Sci-fi: Academic Video Online, Kanopy, Sony Pictures Online. OneSearch: Use OneSearch to search by title or topic. 'Refine my results' by Videos & Available Online at CSUN for streaming videos. 'Refine my results' by Videos & Available at CSUN to browse DVDs for pickup. Before you pay to watch a film, check with the University Library first! For links to all these resources: https://libguides.csun.edu/streaming-video

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Scholarly sources often have a particular writing style and can be challenging to read compared to other types of sources. When reading scholarly literature, read strategically. Don't start by reading the article from start to finish but rather focus on the sections that will give you the information you need first. This will quickly let you know what the article is about and its relevancy for your research. It will also prepare you for when you’re ready to read the full article, giving you a mental map of its structure and purpose.

Here is a suggestion on how to read a scholarly article and which sections to focus on first.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Read the abstract An abstract is a summary of the article, and will give you an idea of what the article is about and how it will be written. If there are lots of complicated subject-specific words in the abstract, the article will be just as hard to read.
Read the conclusion This is where the author will repeat all of their ideas and their findings. Some authors even use this section to compare their study to others. By reading this, you will notice a few things you missed, and will get another overview of the content.
Read the first paragraph or the introduction This is usually where the author will lay out their plan for the article and describe the steps they will take to talk about their topic. By reading this, you will know what parts of the article will be most relevant to your topic!
Read the first sentence of every paragraph These are called topic sentences, and will usually introduce the idea for the paragraph that follows. By reading this, you can make sure that the paragraph has information relevant to your topic before you read the entire thing.
The rest of the article Now that you have gathered the idea of the article through the abstract, conclusion, introduction, and topic sentences, you can read the rest of the article!
To review: Abstract, Conclusion, Introduction, Topic Sentences, Entire Article

Finding a Thesis or Dissertation

[Finding a Thesis or Dissertation]

Thesis: Capstone research for a Master’s Degree. Length: 1-2 journal articles.
Dissertation: Capstone research for a Doctoral Degree. Length: 3-5 journal articles.

CSUN Graduate Students: If you’re a current CSUN graduate student, you might want examples of recent successful theses from your department. Find them in ScholarWorks.
CSUN Alumni: If you wrote a thesis while at CSUN, search for yourself as an author in OneSearch.
Other Universities: Graduate research from other universities is available through the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database.
Embargoed? Authors can choose to restrict access to their research for a few years, usually until they publish or patent their findings. Embargoed theses and dissertations are not available.

Librarians are here to help. Text (818) 900-2965. Call (818) 677-6671.