Welcome to the Journalism 372 Libguide. This guide is intended to support the research needs of students studying J372: Diversity and the Media. Within this guide you will find information and resources to locate and cite ethnic news media and media coverage of diverse identities within a variety of formats.
The University Library offers online access to thousands of full-text newspapers via subscription databases that offer sophisticated ways to search for a subject.
For more information, see Finding and Accessing News Articles. To see the complete list of University Library databases, visit Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
To find a specific newspaper, magazine or journal title, select the "Journals" link in the bottom, of the OneSearch box on the Library homepage. Enter the title of the publication and submit your search. For more information see Finding and Accessing News Articles.
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (database) - is an archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Tom & Ethel Bradley Center - has over one million images produced by Los Angeles-based photographers that document the social, cultural and political lives of the diverse communities of Los Angeles and the Southern California region between the 1910s and the present. The archives contain one of the largest collections of African American photographers west of the Mississippi and the most extensive collection in Southern California.
California Eagle, 1943-1951 (journal, microfilm) - is the oldest African-American newspaper. California Eagle was based in Los Angeles.
Chicago Defender, 1910-1975 (historical newspaper) - was was the nation's most influential black weekly newspaper by the advent of World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership base located outside of Chicago.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1836-1922 (Library of Congress) - is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Filipinas, 1994-2010 (periodical) - was a monthly, nationally distributed Filipino American magazine.
Filipino Express, 1994-present (periodical)
Grito del Sol (English), 1976-1982 (stored periodical)
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (database) - Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Independent Voices Chronicles the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.This collection contains 12,992 issues comprising 388,368 pages.
Indian Country Today, 1983-1988 and 1993-2011 (periodical)
Indigenous Newspapers in North America From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
KoreAm, 1999-2015 (stored periodical) - was a monthly print magazine in English serving the Asian American community.
Korea Times, 1990-2001 (periodical)
La Opinión (Spanish), 1926 (microfilm and database)
La Raza (English), 1970-1973 (stored periodical)
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (periodical) - is a weekly newspaper serving the African-American community.
Los Angeles Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).
Northwest Asian Weekly, 1993-present (periodical)
