Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

Marketing

This guide is for marketing students.

Librarian

Charissa Jefferson's picture
Charissa Jefferson
Contact:
818-677-6390

Library Books for Marketing

The Oviatt Library owns hundreds of books on marketing. A list of books about marketing can be found here and the various topics within that discipline can be found here.

Journals for Marketing

The library offers access to many Journals. Try a Marketing subject search.

Websites

American Marketing Association: Use the library to find marketing articles.

Consumer Expenditure Survey: Find consumer spending from Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Product and Price

To find product or price information, try these sources:

ABI/INFORM Complete: Using the Advanced Search at the top, try searching for your company (change the search box to company name) and brand, product, product development, etc. (Ex: McDonalds and brand). Be sure to look along the right-hand side of the page for a breakdown of the types of information. Trade journals will be helpful to use.

Business Source Premier: Search by company name and keyword (Ex: McDonald's and brand).

The following journals are available full-text through the library's website:

Brand Strategy

The Journal of Product and Brand Management

Industry Ratios

ABI/INFORM Complete has the Dun and Bradstreet publication FirstResearch, which does the reports for Hoover's. The most efficient way to search is to use the keywords for your industry AND FirstResearch. Find the appropriate quarterly report.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios:  Located on the table behind the reference desk. Call number #HF5681.R25 I525 (this is the easiest one to use, so I recommend using this one). Find your industry by SIC code.

RMA Statement Studies: Reference books in the reference room. Located on the table behind the reference desk. Call #HF5681.B2 R6. Find your industry by the NAICS code.

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios: Located same as above books. Call number #HF5681.R25 A45.

Library Databases

MarketShare Reporter: Provides market share data for companies, products, facilities and brands.

ABI/INFORM Complete: Choose the "Business" link on the right. Do a keyword search. You can also limit by terms like "Market Report" or "Market Research" under "Document Type" in the middle of the search page.

IBISWorld: Access industry information based on NAICS codes, which includes information competitive landscape and industry outlook.

Business Source Premier: Do a keyword search. You can also use "marketing" as a subject search.

Academic Search Premier: A multi-disciplinary database that covers a broad range of topics. Do a keyword search on your topic.

Google Scholar: Search for scholarly journal articles and books. Follow the directions in our database list to set up Scholar to also search the library's full-text articles.

SWOT Reports

Market Segmentation

You will need to look in several places to see what's available for your company. Here are some tips:

Business Source Premier: search strategic planning in the SU field, and the company name in the CO field. To broaden results, search only on the company name or use the term strateg* without specifying a field. Experiment with other terms (e.g., interviews, new products).

ABI/INFORM Collection: choose the DATA & REPORTS tab at the top of the screen. Then enter your company name in one box enter a term like "market segmentation" or "segment size" in the second box.

Document Reader