ABI/INFORM Complete has the Dun and Bradstreet publication FirstResearch, which does the reports for Hoover's. The most efficient way to search is to use the keywords for your industry AND FirstResearch. Find the appropriate quarterly report.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios: Located in the Learning Commons. Call number #HF5681.R25 I525 (this is the easiest one to use, so I recommend using this one). Find your industry by SIC code.
RMA Statement Studies: Non-circulating books in the Learning Commons. Find your industry by the NAICS code.
To find product or price information, try these sources:
ABI/INFORM Complete: Using the Advanced Search at the top, try searching for your company (change the search box to company name) and brand, product, product development, etc. (Ex: McDonalds and brand). Be sure to look along the right-hand side of the page for a breakdown of the types of information. Trade journals will be helpful to use.
Business Source Premier: Search by company name and keyword (Ex: McDonald's and brand).
The following journals are available full-text through the library's website:
Consumer Expenditure Survey: Find consumer spending from Bureau of Labor Statistics.
The University Library owns many books on marketing. A list of books about marketing can be found here, and below are just a few examples of ebooks at the library.
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by 
Measuring Marketing: the 100+ essential metrics every marketer needs by 
Encyclopedia of American Industries
The Ency. of American Industries is a great starting point for industry research. Each industry profile provides an overview of that industry's structure, history, development, leaders, and more. Broken out by SIC code, in the print version Volume 1 covers Manufacturing Industries and volume 2 covers Service and Non-Manufacturing Industries.
American Marketing Association: Browse Marketing News on AMA's site, and then use OneSearch to find the full text of any articles of interest.
Top marketing journals include:
For example, here is a record for the Journal of Marketing Management.
From this chart, you can see that this title is peer-reviewed/scholarly/refereed, is published 18 times a year, and is published by Routledge in the UK.
You will need to look in several places to see what's available for your company. Here are some databases to try:
Business Source Premier: search strategic planning in the SU field, and the company name in the CO field. To broaden results, search only on the company name or use the term strateg* without specifying a field. Experiment with other terms (e.g., interviews, new products).
ABI/INFORM Collection: choose the DATA & REPORTS tab at the top of the screen. Then enter your company name in one box enter a term like "market segmentation" or "segment size" in the second box.
Mintel: you can either browse reports, or search for content using the Demographics filter (Millennials, Gen Z., etc.). Mintel also has reports based on market segmentation such as 'Marketing to Gen Z 2022'. Note: unless you want to look for news stories, do NOT search for a company by name.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks: each handbook has a section on market segmentation and is easy to browse.
With a library card from Los Angeles Public Library (or most public libraries in the United States), in addition to checking out e-books and e-audiobooks, you can check out magazines using Overdrive. You can then read these magazines using a computer or tablet. Here is an example of some business/finance magazines that are available.
If you are new to SWOT analysis, check out this definition from A Dictionary of Business & Management.
If your instructor has asked you to do a SWOT analysis, be sure to check if you are to create one from scratch, or if you are allowed to review ones created by professionals.
When searching in Business Source Premier, enter the company name and in the second box, enter SWOT as a title (not a keyword).
If you use a SWOT analysis from a database, don't forget to cite! We have a full guide to APA.
Not all companies have a SWOT in Business Source Premier. You can always search for the name of the company AND MarketLine and get started with a company profile.
More info is available on the left part of this guide, labeled APA Business Citations.
To receive notifications by email that a new issue of a newspaper or journal is available, create a free account with the database.
For example, to receive alerts for the Wall Street Journal, create a My Research account, and then set an alert.
To receive notifications for new issues/articles of Harvard Business Review, create a My EBSCO account.
Then set an alert for HBR.
For any other journal or newspaper alerts, first check to see where it is available at the Library:
