Using Freegal, you can stream unlimited Sony-owned music, and download up to 5 MP3s a week.
Databases and News
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Data PlanetThis link opens in a new windowA statistical data repository contains more than 35 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4.9 billion datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.
IBISWorldThis link opens in a new windowA business information databases that includes economic, demographic and government data to provide insight into over 700 industries in America. It includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, risk ratings reports, and business environment profiles.
Mergent OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable database with financial details of over 13,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, as well as over 24,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Includes over 300,000 U.S. and international company annual reports.
Mintel Reports include detailed consumer research, sales data and market information along with analysis, context and commentary to provide the complete picture of the past, present and future of key markets.
MIT Sloan Management ReviewThis link opens in a new windowA direct link to the MIT Sloan Management Review with access going back to 1988.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Index to more than 440 scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music education, and jazz.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowFormerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides access to over 15,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. Includes news coverage in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; detailed company information and financial performance measures; and access to Shepard's Citations service for federal and state court cases.
ProQuest Global NewsStreamThis link opens in a new windowFull text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.
Wall Street Journal 1984-present (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA link to the Wall Street Journal on the ProQuest platform. This interface is helpful if you are looking for a particular story in the WSJ published anytime 1984 or later.
WestlawThis link opens in a new windowLegal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.
Amp Up, a wildly popular electronic-music game, is the brainchild of KMS's cherished programmers, who now spend their time trying to keep customers dazzled with upgrades. But a couple of start-ups have ripped off the idea using their own code -- which is open source. Now they're demanding that KMS float with the rising tide and join the open-source community. How could the company make money without its IP? And why should it try? Four experts comment on this fictional case study.
Music magazines from LAPL
With a Los Angeles Public Library card, you can access Overdrive.
Overdrive offers a number of music magazines such as Rolling Stone, Billboard, and Mojo.