LibGuides: MUS 580: Music Industry Developments: Home

Home

Music Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning, and Insurance, Management, Marketing, Music, Systems and Operations Management, Theatre

IT resources for students

LinkedIn Learning
Access all of LinkedIn Learning at no cost, through CSUN. You can learn how to give presentations, how to use software, and more.
myCSUNsoftware
Download software at no cost.
Adobe Creative Suite
Contact IT to get a code so you can have access to the Adobe Creative Suite, including Illustrator, Photoshop, and Dreamweaver.

Citing your sources (MLA and Chicago)

OWL Purdue MLA 9
A straightforward guide showing what has changed in the new (9th) edition of MLA. Hosted by Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Quick Guide to Citing in MLA 9
Chicago Manual of Style (online) Full e-version of the Chicago Manual of Style with links to the style blog. Log in with CSUN credentials to access.
OWL Annotated Bibliography guide
Annotated bibliography
The library's guide to annotated bibliographies, including MLA and APA examples.

Find books

The Insider's Guide to Music Licensing by Brian Tarquin
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781621534075
Publication Date: 2014
Copyright in the Music Industry by Bosher, Hayleigh
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781839101274
Publication Date: 2021
Music Business Essentials: A Guide for Aspiring Professionals by Mark Cabaniss
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781442274556
Publication Date: 2018
Unlocking the Digital Age: the musician's guide to research, copyright, and publishing by Kathleen DeLaurenti
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9798218385873
Publication Date: 2024

Backstage Pass
Open-access, peer-reviewed journal published by students at University of the Pacific.
More books on music and copyright
More books on music trade

Past MIA Theses

When you are completing your program, you will submit your thesis to the ETD system and it will be deposited in the library's repository, SOAR.

You can read and review projects from previous cohorts. See below!

A booking agency getting back on its feet post COVID-19
In this graduate project, Group C acted as consultants for a booking agency, referred to as "Company C" (company will be addressed anonymously), to strategize potential opportunities for the agency's growth post COVID-19. Written by Jayson Ames in 2022.
Music products sector : market research, forecasting, and recommendations
Currently, industries across the world face hardship in the lingering aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic. The economic struggle is a force felt through both developed and undeveloped societies. In the wake of major tremors to the physical and mental health of our nations, we've also experienced a truly unpredictable disruption to our economies at macro-scale. Written by Alec Loshonkohl in 2022.

Los Angeles Public Library e-resources

LAPL e-resources
Anyone with an address in California can get an LAPL card. Then you can stream up to 10 titles a month on Kanopy.

Freegal
Using Freegal, you can stream unlimited Sony-owned music, and download up to 5 MP3s a week.

Databases and News

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Data Planet This link opens in a new window A statistical data repository contains more than 35 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4.9 billion datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window A business information databases that includes economic, demographic and government data to provide insight into over 700 industries in America. It includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, risk ratings reports, and business environment profiles.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Fully searchable database with financial details of over 13,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, as well as over 24,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Includes over 300,000 U.S. and international company annual reports.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports include detailed consumer research, sales data and market information along with analysis, context and commentary to provide the complete picture of the past, present and future of key markets.

International Journal of Music Business Research

Financial Times (FT.com) This link opens in a new window FT features world business, politics and economic news, as well as dedicated coverage of company news, climate change, technology, the arts, culture and book reviews. Students, faculty, and staff may create a free personal account that includes FT.com app or desktop access, set up myFT customized news feeds and alerts, access special reports and the ePaper, which is the digital reproduction of todays print edition.
MIT Sloan Management Review This link opens in a new window A direct link to the MIT Sloan Management Review with access going back to 1988.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Index to more than 440 scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music education, and jazz.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window
This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.
Wall Street Journal 1984-present This link opens in a new window A link to the Wall Street Journal on the ProQuest platform. This interface is helpful if you are looking for a particular story in the WSJ published anytime 1984 or later.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Legal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.

Search for specific journal/magazine
Need to read an article in Rolling Stone or MEIEA Journal? Use this search to make it easy.

Case studies

Harvard Business Review
You can browse this journal by issue or you can search for document type 'case study' to find case studies.
Books that include case studies
HBR Case Studies for sale
NOTE: your professor can help you receive a discounted price for case studies. THESE ARE NOT AVAILABLE FROM THE LIBRARY, EVEN USING INTERLIBRARY LOAN.
Sample case study from HBR
Amp Up, a wildly popular electronic-music game, is the brainchild of KMS's cherished programmers, who now spend their time trying to keep customers dazzled with upgrades. But a couple of start-ups have ripped off the idea using their own code -- which is open source. Now they're demanding that KMS float with the rising tide and join the open-source community. How could the company make money without its IP? And why should it try? Four experts comment on this fictional case study.

Music magazines from LAPL

With a Los Angeles Public Library card, you can access Libby.

Overdrive offers a number of music magazines such as Rolling Stone, Billboard, and Mojo.

New York Times
Sign up for a weekly All-Access pass to the NY Times including all digital content, with your LAPL card.
Washington Post
You can sign up (repeatedly) for a 7 day all-access pass to WaPo using LAPL.