LibGuides: Research Strategies: News Articles

Finding newspaper titles

The University Library has access to several newspapers both current and historical available electronically in our News + Current Issues databases.

To find a specific newspaper, use the Journal search via OneSearch and type in the title of the newspaper such as The Wall Street Journal:

Once you find the newspaper, look under Online Access for the link. If there are multiple links, this means the library has access to the newspaper in multiple databases. Make sure to select the link that corresponds to the date range you are searching for.

Once you find an article of interest, you can save the PDF, create a citation, and/or email yourself or a colleague.

Current Newspaper Articles

Have you tried accessing news on their website and prompted to subscribe and pay for access? Don’t worry, the University Library has access to many popular current national newspapers. To browse same day news, it is best to start with Proquest Global NewsStream. Otherwise, select the title below to open the newspaper in OneSearch.

Key U.S. Titles

Chicago Tribune
San Francisco Examiner
The Baltimore Sun
The Boston Globe
The Chicago Defender
The Los Angeles Sentinel
The Los Angeles Times
The New York Times
The Wall Street Journal (see below for WSJ.com)
Washington Post

Key International Titles

Other News Resources:

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Financial Times (FT.com) This link opens in a new window
FT features world business, politics and economic news, as well as dedicated coverage of company news, climate change, technology, the arts, culture and book reviews. Students, faculty, and staff may create a free personal account that includes FT.com app or desktop access, set up myFT customized news feeds and alerts, access special reports and the ePaper, which is the digital reproduction of todays print edition.
NewsBank California Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local and regional news sources.
Sundial This link opens in a new window
Online version of the California State University, Northridge campus newspaper.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window
This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.

Historical Newspaper Articles

Historical Titles:

You can search historical titles at the same time. Once you have logged in, click on Databases, and add the ones you would like (such as the Historical LA Times):

Other Historical Newspaper Resources:

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection includes periodicals from America from 1684 until 1912. It includes more than 500 titles, giving researchers access to contemporary accounts of historical events.
California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922 This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California, selected from America's Historical Newspapers.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.

Receiving News Alerts

If you want to stay up to date with a specific newspaper OR news topic, you can set an alert.

For example, to receive a daily email regarding the Los Angeles Times, you need to create a free account with ProQuest, and then tailor your alert.

You can also use the 'alert' function for a specific search or news item.

Depending on the newspaper title, you may need to set up accounts with multiple vendors (such as EBSCOhost). You should never be asked to pay for this feature, so if you run into trouble, please Ask a Librarian.