The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition (official complete ebook)
Call number Z253 .U69 2003, available in print on the first floor of the library in the Learning Commons
Turabian Quick Guide from the University of Chicago Press
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 8th edition by Kate Turabian et al.
Call number LB2369 .T8 2013, available in print on the first floor of the library in the Learning Commons
What has changed since MLA 8th edition?
MLA Style Center: What's New with the Ninth Edition includes information on formatting your research paper, citation practice template, FAQs, sample papers, and quick guide. They also provide citation guideline for common titles of online works.
This guide is a quick introduction to the American Psychological Association (APA) 7th Edition Style for citations, basic format, and sample annotated bibliography. Please be sure to consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition and/or the APA Style website for additional details.
There is a print copy available in Reserves (4th floor, east wing) for a two hour checkout.
Most Notable changes from APA 6th edition to 7th edition
Publisher location is NOT included for book citations.
In-text citations from works with three or more authors is shortened from the first time mentioned to (Hernandez et al., 2020)
Include up to 20 authors in the reference.
DOIs need to be formatted as clickable URLs such as https://doi.org/10.1126/sciadv.1400256
Don’t include “Retrieved from” in front of a URL unless a retrieval date is needed.
For website citation include the website name, unless it is the same as the author.
Clear guidelines for citing media contributors that are not authors or editors.
Include as author
Host or Executive Producer
Online Streaming Video
Person/Group who uploaded the video
Citation examples are provided for different types of online sources including: podcasts, youtube videos, and social media posts.
Use the singular “they” as a gender neutral pronoun instead of he or she.
Clear format guidelines are provided for student and professional research papers.
More flexibility in font choices/size and include:
Lucida Sans Unicode 10
Times New Roman 12
The running head on the title page no longer includes the words Running head. It now only includes the title of the paper and the page number.
Student papers do not need to include a running head. (Unless specified from your instructor)
At the end of a sentence, use one space instead of two.
Citation Managers are bibliographic management programs that will help you keep track of articles and books as you find them, organize your references and create bibliographies in 100s of citation styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)
They will also allow you to:
The most popular citation managers are EndNote and Zotero. Below are their differences. Remember to always check with your professor if you are not sure.
EndNote - Web version (EndNote Online or EndNote Basic) free to anyone; integrates with MS Word; the Instruction Labs at the University Library have the Cite-While-You-Write plug-in on Word for students to access their EndNote web accounts
Zotero - Free to anyone; integrates with MS Word and/or Google Docs; must be installed on your own computer
Zoterobib- Free to anyone; allows you to create an instant bibliography from your browser on any devices.
|Criteria||Zotero||EndNote and EndNote Web|
EndNote Web: https://www.myendnoteweb.com/
|Web based?||Yes, works with Firefox browser and can sync with online account; connectors for Chrome and Safari available||EndNote is a standalone app but it can transfer library to EndNote Web.|
|Operating System||Windows, Mac, Linux||Windows or MAC|
|Cost||Free for basic account and the standalone app. Some cost for more online storage space||Free for EndNote Web but $$ for the standalone app.|
|Import from databases||Yes||Direct export from specific databases|
|Import citation info from web pages||Yes, also archives the page and you can add annotations||only with EndNote Web bookmarklet|
|Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.)||Yes, with option to attach automatically||Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs|
adapted from American University Library and Penn State University Libraries
Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources