LibGuides: Urban Studies & Planning: Free digital resources

Free Digital Resources

Be sure to check out even more open educational resources for urban studies and planning at the Affordable Learning $olutions guide.

EBOOKS AND ELECTRONIC TEXTBOOKS

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

Open Textbook Library: a collection of free electronic textbooks licensed under one of six Creative Commons licenses. Some books include faculty peer reviews.

OER Commons: a freely online library of open educational resources and other freely available instructional materials.

MERLOT: a program of the California State University System that includes a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services for use by higher education instructional faculty and staff.

OTHER RESOURCES

HathiTrust: a collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items.

Internet Archive: an open digital library that includes collections of websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of books.

Calisphere: a platform that brings together digital collections of over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from libraries, archives and museums throughout the state of California.

DPLA: a national platform that brings together digital collections from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States and makes them freely available to the world.