AIS 101 - Introduction to American Indian Studies

To the Chicago Manual of Style refer to

Citing Archival Materials in Chicago 

Purdue OWL (Links to an external site.) for guidance on annotated bibliographies) to understand how the source fits into your understanding of the topic.

Turabian Quick Guide from the University of Chicago Press

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 8^th edition by Kate Turabian et al.

Purdue OWL (Links to an external site.) for guidance on annotated bibliographies) to understand how the source fits into your understanding of the topic.

You annotation should:

1. Provide a summary of the source.
2. Explain why it's a good source.

As you search for and read through sources ask yourself the following questions:

• What is the main point?
• How do they support their claims?
• How does it relate to your topic?
• What did you learn?

Visit this helpful guide to learn more about how to approach building your annotated bibliography.
The authors of this guide point out that, 
"An annotated bibliography is the same as a “regular” bibliography (also known as a Works Cited or References list), with the addition of annotations (short paragraphs about each source). Two types of annotated bibliographies are the most common:

• Descriptive: annotations describe the content of a source
• Evaluative: annotations describe AND critically evaluate the source"

Red Deer Library

• https://rdc.libguides.com/chicago/annotated
• They also have posted formatting assistance from this link.

UCLA History Department (REVISED) Annotated Bibliography Assistance
These guidelines may help you write an annotated bibliography for a history class.
Your professor might provide specific guidelines that provide more detail than the information here.
Always follow your professor’s instructions.