Finding Peer Reviewed Articles - AIS 250 - American Indian and U.S. History - LibGuides at California State University, Northridge

Coordinator of Information Literacy & Instruction

Email Me

Contact:

Office: University Library 449A EW

818-677-7104

Subjects: American Indian Studies, California Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Queer Studies

What is a Peer Reviewed article?

If you're using OneSearch, use the gray left column to filter your results to Peer Reviewed Articles only. Under Show Only, choose Peer-reviewed Journals, and under Resource Type, choose Articles.

If you found your article elsewhere, you can use Ulrichsweb to determine if a journal
(where the article is published) is peer reviewed: http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/databases/proxy/209

(Other words for peer reviewed are scholarly, academic, or refereed.)

In general, try to remember the following about scholarly journals:

Authors are authorities in their fields.
Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
Individual issues have little or no advertising.
Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
Articles use jargon of the discipline.

Article Databases For Secondary Peer Reviewed Sources

JSTOR
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Project MUSE
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.