Additional Primary Source Repositories - AIS 250 - American Indian and U.S. History - LibGuides at California State University, Northridge

Coordinator of Information Literacy & Instruction

Email Me

Contact:

Office: University Library 449A EW

818-677-7104

Subjects: American Indian Studies, California Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Queer Studies

Repositories of Indigenous Voices

Resource Database Center of the National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition
NABS was created to develop and implement a national strategy that increases public awareness and cultivates healing for the profound trauma experienced by individuals, families, communities, American Indian and Alaska Native Nations resulting from the U.S. adoption and implementation of the Boarding School Policy of 1869.
U.S. Indian Boarding Schools of California Archives Resource Guide
See: U.S. Indian Boarding Schools of California
Archives Resource Guide
American Indian Digital History Project
The American Indian Digital History Project is a Digital History Cooperative founded to recover and preserve rare Indigenous newspapers, photographs, and archival materials from all across Native North America.

The Doris Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History (University of Oklahoma)
The Doris Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living. Members of every tribe resident in Oklahoma were interviewed. The collection includes the original tapes on which the interviews were recorded, as well as microfiche copies of the typescripts. The digital representation of the typescripts are organized by tribe but may be searched by interviewee, by interviewer, by tape number, or by keyword searching of the full-text of the transcript.

Chief George Manuel Memorial Indigenous Library
Contains documents, reports, and publications from indigenous nations in North America and the world. Established in 1979 as a document repository, in response to a resolution of the Conference of Tribal Governments.

Government Resources

National Archives: Researching an Individual to Check for Sources/Documents Etc.

Federal documents related to American Indians at the National Archives can include information about tribal members, federal officials, Indian agents, military personnel, teachers, nurses, and laborers. Some records may even reference a person who was involved in Indian affairs because of his/her geographic proximity to a tribe or agency, such as a minister, medical doctor, or social worker.

Also see: National Archives Information Page for links to American history relating to Native Americans

Bureau of Indian Affairs Finding Guide: Digital Photograph Collection by Topic Finder
Photographs are organized around common topics to help you discover digitized photos in this record group. Topics range from photos related to BIA history to Native American culture.

Native American and Indigenous History and Culture, Smithsonian Institute

Native American Heritage Month: Exhibitions and Collections

Featured archival materials from the Library of Congress, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Smithsonian Institute, and more.