Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

AIS 304: American Indian Law & Policy

This guide supports the Fall 2020 AIS 304 course taught by Professor Nicole Blalock

Organizations and Additional Resources

National Congress of American Indians

Native American Rights Fund

Tribal Law and Policy Institute

Walking on Common Ground

Resources for promoting and faciliting tribal-state-federal collaborations.

Online Guides

If You Knew the Conditions...: Health Care to Native Americans

The online version of an exhibit held at the National Library of Medicine 15 April - 31 August 1994, National Institutes of Health, USA.

Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Digital Collection

Includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's.

Indigenous Digital Archive

Explores the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School, boarding school records, and letters.

Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties

Kappler's Indian Affairs is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

Helpful Websites

American Indian Constitutions and Legal Materials

Historical constitutions and legal materials digitized from the Law Library of Congress collection.

Digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures.

Digital Public Library of America: Native Americans

Includes images, texts, and sound/video clips.

Documents Relating to Indian Affairs

The collection currently includes "Documents Relating to the Negotiation of Ratified and Unratified Treaties With Various Indian Tribes, 1801-1869" and the "Office of Indian Affairs, Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs." Includes instructions to treaty commissioners, reports, letters, and in some cases copies of the treaties.

Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History

"Provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living."