Communication Disorders and Sciences

• Search Strategy - Oviatt Library Research Therapy tutorial on boolean logic using EbscoHost's advanced search
• Using PubMed for Evidenced Based Practice - a link provided by National Library of Medicine is suitable for nurses, speech therapists, physical therapists. The brief videos and interactive questions describe PICO, simple searches, Medical Subject Headings, clinical queries and more. If you watch the full video it will take at least 30 minutes. 
• Checkout the following for latest videos for the new PubMed at  https://learn.nlm.nih.gov/documentation/training-packets/T0042010P/
• PubMed tutorials  --- note especially the most recent interactive tutorials under Quick Tours (new  PubMed)  - 
• new PubMed Subject Search  how it works 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text -  Ebscohost tutorials on YouTube.  Remember do NOT limit your search  to full text even though the videos point out the full text box.  Oviatt Library subscribes to over 150 databases,  Many articles are indexed in several different databases but may be full text in another.  Here is a link demonstrating advanced searching

Overview

Periodical articles (magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and scholarly journals) are excellent sources for research projects.

Check Ulrich's to see if a journal is peer-reviewed/referreed.

The ASHA website provides a list of Web-based tutorials/resources that relate to different aspects of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) including General EBP Information, tutorials on the basic principles of evidence-based practice; framing the clinical question (PICO);finding the evidence; accessing the evidence; making the clinical decision.

https://www.asha.org/research/ebp/evidence-based-practice-tutorials/

• CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

  Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

• PubMed This link opens in a new window

  PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window

  Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.