Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

GWS 302: Feminist Methods

This is a course guide intended to be used by students enrolled in CSUN's GWS 302 course.

Professor Beyene's Annotated Bibliography Assignment

Note:Refer to your assignment in Canvas and your syllabus for all questions about criteria and expectations.

For your Fall 2020 GWS 302 Course with Professor Beyene you are being asked to compile an annotated bibliography using the Chicago Manual of Style.

Annotated Bibliography Instructions

1. Compile a list of 6-8 preliminary reading list/bibliography, which should include:
a. scholarly articles and/or books related to your research topic.
b. 4 of these should be no more than 5 years old (2015 cut off)

2. For each submission, write a brief 3-4 sentence description of the source. You may not have read all of these selections closely by the time you turn in the assignment, but you should have scanned each one and have a sense of the topic under discussion. In short, you should be able to begin classifying them USING YOUR OWN WORDS. While you may use the abstracts, book descriptions, book reviews, table of contents, intros and conclusions to help you identify the main point of the pieces, your task is to use your own language to say what the pieces are about. Don’t plagiarize! Paraphrasing is a skill that you will need for your literature review, so start practicing.

3. Have a one line sentence or phrase about what you think each piece will help you find out about your topic (“Why I picked it” statement).

Separate all your material into two groups, Scholarly literature and Supplementary literature: 

Resources for Formatting Your Annotated Bibliography

To the Chicago Manual of Style refer to

Citing Archival Materials in Chicago 

Purdue OWL (Links to an external site.) for guidance on annotated bibliographies) to understand how the source fits into your understanding of the topic.

Turabian Quick Guide from the University of Chicago Press

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 8th edition by Kate Turabian et al.

Purdue OWL (Links to an external site.) for guidance on annotated bibliographies) to understand how the source fits into your understanding of the topic.

What is an Annotated Bibliography Video

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources