This guide is intended to support students enrolled in History 342 at California State Northridge by introducing resources and critical thinking skills that support the completion of required research assignments and the growth of information literacy ski
This guide is intended to assist students looking for information resources to support their assigned essay and research guide in the form of an annotated bibliography for Professor Horowitz's History 192 course. You will be looking for primary and secondary source information on the article you have been assigned about a significant event or person in East Asian History (almost all from 1890-1990).
The written elements of the History 342 Cold War History Project for Professor Horowitz
What your group will need to do:
· Research and write a source-based account of what happened and why this is important.
· Write reports on how the event was covered in two newspapers. The newspapers you will use will be The Times (aka the London Times), the New York Times, and the Los Angeles Times (see adjacent box). The CSUN library has access to excellent databases that will enable you to do this kind of research.
· Assemble a bibliography of all of the sources you have found, organized into categories.
· Present your work to the class.
· All written work must be fully footnoted using real footnotes, (not parenthetical references) and formatted according to the Chicago Notes/Bibliography style, the standard in the discipline of history.
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Collection of over 200 cross-searchable language and subject reference works from Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library, including titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.